Airport public art winners announced

  • Photograph supplied

    Photograph supplied

Bermuda Skyport and Aecon Airport Constructors have chosen 12 artists to display works in the new passenger terminal building when it opens next year.

The winners are: Christina Hutchings, Daniel DeSilva, Edwin Smith, Jahday Ford, Jonathan Northcott, JP Rouja, Michele Smith, Milton Hill, Otto Trott, Vaughan&Amy Evans, William Gringley and Zoe Dyson Hedstrom.

The works are varying mediums and each artist will be awarded $3,500 per piece. The works are scheduled to be completed by May 14, 2020 and then will be displayed in the new terminal prior to opening.

Mikaela Pearman, Marketing&Communications Officer, Skyport, says: “After careful consideration, 12 artists were selected who we felt presented the best proposals for artwork inside of the new passenger terminal building. We believe the original Bermudian pieces will add to the overall sense of place and are excited for the public to see the works.”

The RFP was open to all Bermudian artists, working individually or in collaboration. The artwork was judged by a selection committee that included:

- Mr. Gary L. Phillips, OBE, Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur; Chairman, Bermuda National Gallery;

- Dr. Ashley Dunn, Assistant Curator in the Department of Drawings and Prints at the Metropolitan Museum of Art; and

- Ms. Nicole Golden, Owner of Urban Cottage in Hamilton, Bermuda.

Press release from Skyport and Aecon

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Nov 28, 2019 at 4:48 pm (Updated Nov 28, 2019 at 4:48 pm)

Airport public art winners announced

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts