House: 49 earn government scholarships, awards

  • Feeling encouraged: Diallo Rabain, the Minister of Education (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

    Feeling encouraged: Diallo Rabain, the Minister of Education (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Diallo Rabain, the Minister of Education, highlighted the winners of government scholarships this morning in the House of Assembly.

There were almost 50 awards made in a variety of areas of study.

Among the winners were Taj Donville-Outerbridge, Ryan Robinson-Perinchief and Harlee Purvey were named this week as recipients of the 2019 Bermuda Government Scholarships, worth up to $35,000 per year.

Malachi Butterfield and Kiudae Tuzo received the Minister’s Applied Tech Scholarship, while Jordyn Richardson and Marley Hines received the Minister’s Achievement Scholarship.

The Minister’s Technical and Vocational Award was presented to Dimitrius Richardson and Jahmori Richardson, with the Minister’s Exceptional Student Award going to CaVon Raynor, Sacred Basden and Keziah Bean-Fostin.

Noelene Fleming, Shari Young and Scott Burrows were awarded the 2019 Non-Traditional Student Award, while Gere Scraders and Kennisha DeShields won the 2019 Teacher Education Scholarship.

Mr Rabain said: “It is refreshing, it is encouraging and it is most gratifying to know that our young Bermudians are bold in their aspirations and pursuit of postsecondary studies that will lead to a mix of professional careers.”

To view the ministerial statement in full, click on the PDF link under “Related Media”

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Jul 19, 2019 at 10:50 am (Updated Jul 19, 2019 at 8:05 pm)

House: 49 earn government scholarships, awards

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts