St George councillor election date set

  • The Town of St George (File photograph)

    The Town of St George (File photograph)

A municipal election to fill a vacant seat in St George has been postponed to next month because of a lack of candidates.

The election, to replace Lloyd Van Putten, will be held on February 27, with nomination day scheduled to take place on February 13.

A spokeswoman for the Corporation of St George said: “This is an opportunity for members of the community to become involved with the Corporation and the running of the Town of St George.

“A new member will be expected to make at least three committee meetings per month, in addition to other supplemental meetings on occasion.”

She added: “This is an exciting time for the Town of St George. There are numerous projects that are near completion in and around the town.

“The airport will open in July 2020 and the St Regis hotel is scheduled for completion in 2021. This is a great opportunity to be part of the revitalisation of the Town of St George.”

The post is a municipal residents’ councillor position and only municipal residents of the town are eligible to vote.

An election had been scheduled to take place last week, but was pushed back after no nominees came forward.

The corporation had problems filling councillor seats in 2019. Only seven candidates were nominated for the eight councillor positions at the municipal elections last April.

That post was filled, but three more vacancies appeared over the year as councillors Tania Stafford, Phillip Seaman and Mr Van Putten resigned.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Jan 27, 2020 at 8:00 am (Updated Jan 27, 2020 at 8:01 am)

St George councillor election date set

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    • "The most effective politician of 2019"
    • David Burt
    • 8%
    • Wayne Caines
    • 9%
    • Craig Cannonier
    • 3%
    • Zane DeSilva
    • 10%
    • Curtis Dickinson
    • 6%
    • Michael Dunkley
    • 33%
    • Nick Kempe
    • 27%
    • Leah Scott
    • 4%
    • Total Votes: 11029
    • Poll Archive

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts