Richardson set to be chairman of selectors

  • Allen Richardson

(Photo by Akil Simmons)

    Allen Richardson (Photo by Akil Simmons)

Allen Richardson has been appointed as Bermuda cricket’s new chairman of selectors.

The Bermuda Cricket Board has yet to confirm the former St David’s and Bermuda opening batsman’s appointment, with attempts last night to reach president Lloyd Smith proving futile.

However, several reliable sources have strongly suggested that Richardson has been appointed in the key role.

Richardson previously served as first vice-president of the BCB for four years before resigning in April 2012 after failing in his bid to become president.

The national selectors have their work cut out as Bermuda are preparing for two international tournaments this year.

Bermuda are scheduled to participate in the Americas Twenty20 subregional qualifier against host nation Argentina, Cayman Islands and Surinam from February 25 to March 4. The top two countries will advance to the regional finals to be held in 2019.

The national team will also play in the World Cricket League Division Four tournament in Malaysia from April 26 to May 4. The top two sides from the six-team competition will gain promotion.

“The BCB has a very important four-month period ahead of us for the national senior squad, with two ICC tournaments following each other in quick succession,” Smith said in a previous interview.

“The goal of the BCB is for promotion in both competitions, and an exacting preparation plan is in place to provide a platform for the players to be successful.”

The training squad contains several players who went on a tour to Toronto last year, including former captain Janeiro Tucker who is the most senior player chosen.

Stephen Outerbridge, a former Bermuda captain, is one of ten players from Bailey’s Bay in the training squad, including wicketkeeper Sinclair Smith and seam bowlers Kyle Hodsoll, Nirobi Mills, Malachi Jones and Zeko Burgess.

Kamau Leverock, who returned home to play in Cup Match for Somerset and the Eastern Counties Cup for Flatts last summer, is one of several overseas-based players selected.

Others include Alex Dore, Cameron Jeffers, Christian Burgess, Chris Douglas, Jordan Smith, Chare Smith, Nzari Paynter, brothers Okera and Onias Bascome, and Joshua Gilbert.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Jan 19, 2018 at 8:00 am (Updated Jan 18, 2018 at 11:50 pm)

Richardson set to be chairman of selectors

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts