Darrell dumbfounded after winning MVP

  • Hornets stalwart: Seion Darrell won the Premier Division MVP award at the BFA Awards Ceremony on Saturday night

    Hornets stalwart: Seion Darrell won the Premier Division MVP award at the BFA Awards Ceremony on Saturday night

Seion Darrell was left more shocked than anyone after producing arguably the biggest upset of the Bermuda Football Association’s awards ceremony on the steps of City Hall on Saturday evening.

The Dandy Town defender was almost lost for words after beating fellow nominees Marco Warren, of PHC Zebras, and Troy Tucker, of champions North Village, to the coveted Premier Division Most Valuable Player of the season award.

The 34-year-old spoke of his pride at collecting the award, particularly for the recognition from the league’s other managers, who made the final decision over a two-phase vote.

“I’m very surprised to be honest,” Darrell said. “I definitely would have put my money on one of the others winning the award.

“They are both outstanding players that I was nominated with and I’m just delighted to have won.

“I put a lot of work in this season and I guess it showed. It’s also great to know other people have recognised my hard work with this award. I’m genuinely honoured.”

It also proved a memorable evening for Devonshire Colts’ Chermal Henry who enjoyed double delight in picking up not only the First Division top scorer award but also the league’s Most Valuable Player accolade.

“I’m really pleased to pick up two awards this evening,” he said. “I have to give thanks to my coach and all of my team-mates at Devonshire Colts for a great season.

“It was pleasing to win the top scorer award but the MVP award is particularly special.

“Hopefully I can take my form from last season into the new season and keep doing my best for the team.”

There was less surprise with the Coach of the Year category as championship-winners collected the honours with Village’s Kenny Thompson and St George’s Jerreau Hayward winning the Premier and First Division awards, respectively.

“I’m obviously very happy and honoured to win this award,” said Thompson, who won a first Premier Division league title as a coach in his first season back at Village.

“I’d like to dedicate this award to the executive of North Village who do a great job behind the scenes, obviously my coaching team, the players and everyone else connected with the club.

“I have to a give special mention to my assistant coach Randy Spence. He was the coach when I returned to the club and he really kept the club going when there wasn’t a good feeling about North Village in difficult circumstances.

“He’s been tremendous in what we’ve been able to do and our working relationship is incredible.

“We don’t this for individual awards but this is a really satisfying end to a fantastic season.”

Among the remaining individual awards, Robin Hood and Bermuda defender Jaylon Bather was named Premier Division Defender of the Year, while the First Division winner was Terry Foote of Devonshire Colts.

The two standout custodians this season proved the obvious choices for goalkeeper of the year with North Village’s Tahj Bell and St George’s Freddy Hall collecting the honours.

There was further recognition for Devonshire Colts players with Jehkelyo Burgess picking up the First Division young player of the year award, while the Premier Division award was handed to Somerset Eagles forward Nathan Rego.

Meanwhile, X-Roads Warriors were among the honours with striker Donavan Thompson being named as the Premier Division top goalscorer, while the club also collected the league’s Fair Play Team award.

The First Division fair play team award was presented to Devonshire Colts, capping off a successful ceremony for the club.

It was not just players and clubs in the running for honours with awards also handed out to referees in various categories.

Chosen by the selection panel based on a number of criteria including feedback from local, Fifa and Concacaf instructors and match commissioners, Lloyd Christopher was named as the Referee of the Year, Amaury Majors the Young Referee of the Year and Emily Cabral the Youth Referee of the Year.

As well as those being honoured for their achievements on the field this season a number of people were recognised for the contributions off the field both past and present as part of the order of merit awards.

Among those was Devonshire Cougars stalwart Hilton Wolffe, who has dedicated his life to the game both as a player, coach and mentor over the last 40 years.

“I’d like to thank the BFA for this truly special award,” said Wolffe, who featured as both a right back and goalkeeper for the club.

“I loved my playing days and then later loved coaching, especially the young players. I want to thank everyone involved for this special occasion.”

Two longstanding members of Somerset Cricket Club were recognised for their dedication to the club as Charlotte Simons was honoured for 45 years of devotion, as well as playing a major role in the establishment of the Clyde Best Foundation and Larry Hunt was selected having spent 50 years developing players within the Somerset community.

“I’m honoured and humbled by this award,” Simons said.

The final individual recipient of the order of merit award was Elroy Ratteray who has been involved in various positions with the BFA including vice-president, director and culminating in honorary vice-president of the organisation.

The former PHC coach also served on the international stage as the head of delegation of the BFA at events such as World Cup qualifying, Olympic qualifying, Pan American Games and Concacaf.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Aug 31, 2020 at 8:00 am (Updated Aug 30, 2020 at 7:47 pm)

Darrell dumbfounded after winning MVP

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts