Log In

Reset Password

Judiciary celebrates work of special panel members

A special thank you: members of the Family Court’s special panel with members of the judiciary at a recent reception (Photograph supplied)

Bermuda’s Supreme Court and Magistrates’ Court recently recognised the hard work of the Family Court’s special panel.

The panel serves as a “special court” which deals with matters that involve families and young people.

It is appointed by the Government, with members sitting alongside magistrates during sessions of the special court.

A total of 38 panel members attended a recent reception at the Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute to thank them for their dedicated service to the island.

A government spokeswoman said: “Governor Rena Lalgie thanked all panellists for their invaluable assistance to families and the Courts.

“She praised their diligence, compassion, and commitment to achieving effective and fair outcomes.

“Her Excellency also presented certificates of appreciation to them to acknowledge their service, including to the longest-serving member, Roderick ‘Roddy’ Burchall, who served for 46 years and was appointed to serve by successive governors.”

Members of the judiciary, including Chief Justice Larry Mussenden, Puisne Judge Juan Wolffe, senior magistrate Maxanne Anderson and magistrate Maria Sofianos, also used the opportunity to commend the panellists for their efforts.

The special panel members are: Denise Astwood, Wendy Augustus, Annette Barclay, Hope Berg, Delano Bulford, Roderick Burchall, Elaine Charles, Marlene Christopher, Dorlene Cruickshank, Jennifer DeRosa-Holder, Deborah Evans, Herman Eve, David Frith, Patricia Hall, Judith Hall-Bean, K. Randy Horton, Robert Horton, Kerry Judd, Alan Lugo, Veronica Outerbridge, Linda Perry, Gwyneth Rawlins, Mary Samuels, Kenneth Scott, Kenrick Shillingford, Carol-Ann Simmons, Cornelia Simmons, Melvin Simmons, Orin Simmons, Colin Smith, George Smith, Gladwin Dean Smith, Debra Swan, Kathy-Ann Swan, Llewelyn Trott and Linda Tucker.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published April 08, 2024 at 4:54 pm (Updated April 09, 2024 at 10:47 pm)

Judiciary celebrates work of special panel members

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon