Log In

Reset Password

Cup Match stars honoured in Zuill match

Dearly departed: Warrington “Soup” Zuill

Past Cup Match players will be honoured in the tenth year of the passing of historian Warrington “Soup” Zuill when the ninth memorial match is played at Sea Breeze Oval on Sunday between a Bermuda Masters team and the Jamaican Association.

The 35-overs match will start at noon and will feature former Cup Match players such as Herbie Bascome, Clevie Wade, Ricky Hill, Charlie Marshall, Allen Richardson, Lionel Cann and Kyle Lightbourne in the Masters team.

Zuill passed away on the same evening, September 20, 2008, of the first match played in his honour.

To mark the tenth anniversary of his passing, the Warrington “Soup” Zuill Cup Match Star Awards will be presented to former Cup Match players for outstanding partnerships, bowling and fielding.

Charles Trott, a colt for St George’s in Cup Match this year, and winning Colts Cup Match captain, will also receive the Sportsmanship Award.

Special awards

First-wicket partnership: Kenny Cann and Campbell Simons 138 (in 1974)

Fourth wicket: Colin Blades and John Tucker 135 (1979)

Fifth wicket: Wendell Simmons and John Tucker 92 (1974)

Sixth wicket: Rupert Scotland and Lee Raynor 229 (1974)

Seventh wicket: Lloyd James and Alfred Hall 173 (1961)

Best bowling: Eldon Raynor 7 for 18 (1967)

Most catches in an innings: Neville Darrell 5 (1975)

Most catches: Calvin Symonds 24 (1950-1969)

Umpires willing to officiate are urged to contact Hoyt Zuill at 504-4698 or at somari@blessed.bm

<p>Bermuda Masters</p>

Squad: Herbie Bascome, Ricky Hill, Kyle Lightbourne, Charlie Marshall, Grant Smith, Clevie Wade, Winston Simmons, Derek Wright, Gladwin Edness, Rahje Edness, Brian Morris, Allen Richardson, Hoyt Zuill, Curtis Jackson (colt), Lionel Cann (colt), Hasan Durham, Sammy Robinson, Ricky Brangman, David Greenidge, Barry Richards, Vernon Eve (colt).