Kamau Leverock and Regino Smith win cricket MVP awards – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Kamau Leverock and Regino Smith win cricket MVP awards

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
100 club: Zeko Burgess, of Bailey's Bay, receives an award for scoring a century in the Twenty20 Premier Division against St George's. Burgess’s 129 was the highest score in the abbreviated league season. He is joined by, from left, Ernest Peets, the Minister of Youth, Culture and Sport, Arianna Hodgson, the Junior Minister of Community Affairs, Sport and Labour, and Lloyd Smith, the Bermuda Cricket Board president (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Kamau Leverock and Regino Smith, former team-mates at Flatts, were crowned the Premier Division and First Division most valuable players for the shortened 2020 cricket season.

The Bermuda Cricket Board held the awards ceremony at noon yesterday, but only two players attended — McLaren Lowe, of St David’s, who won the award for the most Premier Division catches with seven, and Zeko Burgess, who was one of only three players to score a century in the Premier Division Twenty20 league.

Lloyd Smith, the BCB president, acknowledged that work commitments, as well as the Covid-19 pandemic, contributed to the absence of many players. The presentation was held at the National Sports Centre.

Lloyd Smith, the president of the Bermuda Cricket Board, presents new sports minister Ernest Peets with a Bermuda shirt during yesterday's awards ceremony at the National Sports Centre (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Leverock won three awards — most runs with 513, two centuries and the MVP award. The all-rounder, in his first season with Somerset, scored 119 off 42 balls against Willow Cuts and the next weekend followed up by smashing 126 not out from 56 balls against St George’s.

Burgess, the Bailey’s Bay player who is better known for his bowling, also scored a Premier Division century. His 129 off 46 balls against St George’s was the highest score of the season. Onias Bascome, of St George’s, also scored a century last season — 111 in a losing cause against Willow Cuts in the season-opener in July.

Regino Smith’s 211 runs were the most runs in the First Division, including two half-centuries. Team-mate Koda Bascome claimed 13 wickets to finish as leading wicket-taker in the First Division, while Derrick Brangman, of St David’s, was the top wicket-taker in the Premier Division with 15.

Southampton Rangers won the T20 title, while Flatts and Warwick Workmen’s Club shared the First Division league title.

Q’Shai Darrell, of Cleveland, had six catches and one run-out in the First Division.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published November 13, 2020 at 8:00 am (Updated November 12, 2020 at 7:49 pm)

Kamau Leverock and Regino Smith win cricket MVP awards

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon