Log In

Reset Password

Zeko Burgess rewarded with Bailey’s Bay recall for Eastern Counties clash

Zeko Burgess has been recalled to Bailey’s Bay’s team for their Eastern Counties second-round clash with Flatts at Sea Breeze Oval tomorrow (File photograph by Ras Mykkal)

Bailey’s Bay coach Gus Logie has high expectations for guest player Zeko Burgess who has been recalled for the holders Eastern Counties second-round encounter with Flatts at Sea Breeze Oval tomorrow.

The St George’s seamer is the only change to Bay’s team from the one that retained the coveted trophy after their rain-affected first-round encounter with St David’s ended in a draw.

“Zeko Burgess is on top of his game at this point in time,” Logie told The Royal Gazette.

“He’s done well in Cup Match, he’s done well against us last week for St George’s and certainly has impressed the time he turned up to train with us, so the opportunity was there to be given to him this time out and we’re trusting that he brings an X-factor.

“He knows he has the ability and we’re hoping he can execute on the day given the opportunity.”

Burgess, who claimed two for 14 in champions St George’s eight-wicket win over Bay in the Athene T20 Premier Division last Sunday, has been drafted in for all-rounder Sharye Tavares.

“We went with what we felt was the best possible combination for this game,” added the former West Indies player and coach.

Burgess could share the new ball with Macquille Walker, who claimed six for 22 against St David’s in the previous round, and is among a four-pronged seam attack that features Kyle Hodsoll and fellow guest player Malachi Jones.

Bay will again be led by captain Terryn Fray, who along with Kyle Hodsoll, wicketkeeper Jarryd Richardson, Azendé Furbert, Delray Rawlins, Rodney Trott, Stephen Outerbridge and guest player Tre Manders, are the remaining surviving members in the team from the previous round.

Coolidge Durham, Sancho Jackson and Tavares have been named as reserves.


Terryn Fray (captain)

Kyle Hodsoll

Rodney Trott

Stephen Outerbridge

Tre Manders (guest)

Zeko Burgess (guest)

Azendé Furbert

Delray Rawlins

Jarryd Richardson (wicketkeeper)

Macquille Walker

Malachi Jones (guest)

Reserves: Coolidge Durham, Sharye Tavares, Sancho Jackson.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published August 18, 2023 at 7:59 am (Updated August 18, 2023 at 7:59 am)

Zeko Burgess rewarded with Bailey’s Bay recall for Eastern Counties clash

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon