Log In

Reset Password

McComas edges to narrow victory

Just champion: Hopkin, far right, won the men's B division race. (File photo by Blaire Simmons)

Dave McComas grabbed a narrow victory in the Winners Edge Criterium at Southside yesterday.

McComas’s time of 37min 46.415sec was just enough to claim the men’s A division, with Mark Hatherley second in 37:46.745, and Mario Brooks third in 37:47.121.

In the men’s B division, Adam Hopkin edged out Chad Townsell by five-hundredths of a second, winning in 38:59.560, with Rico Smith third in 39:00.693.

Ricky Smith’s win in the men’s C division was also a close one, his time of 28:26.874 was only fractionally ahead of Terry Thomas, with Malik Joell close behind in third in 28:27.649.

Wenda Roberts won the women’s race, coming in ahead of Tristan Narraway in 28:23.965, and there were wins for Micah Cook, Ziani Burgesson and Jerico Sealey in the junior races.