Log In

Reset Password

Bermuda Day float winners announced

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last
Meaningful stories: Owen Darrell, the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, with Kim Dismont-Robinson, the Director of the Department of Culture (Photograph supplied)

Participants of the Bermuda Day Parade were commended for their unique and vibrant entries as the winners were announced by the Department of Culture.

Owen Darrell, the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, said the event demonstrated the best of what Bermuda has to offer.

He highlighted: "Thousands lined streets of Hamilton to witness an amazing display of high energy, culture, heritage and of course community.

“Our people came together to participate in one of the most celebrated and anticipated events on our calendar, and I must commend the Bermuda Day Parade participants for their vibrant and unique floats and entries.

“There were some very meaningful stories behind several of our float entries and I wish to thank everyone for their participation.

“I must also extend a special acknowledgement to all in our community who gave to the Bermuda Day Fund. Their generous donations went a long way in assisting many of our parade entrants.”

Bermuda Day Parade (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Mr Darrell said: “I am well aware of the hard work, time, effort and preparation that goes into putting on an event of this magnitude so I also wish to thank the team at the Department of Culture for generating a level of excitement for this year's parade that helped us reach increased participation.

“We look forward to hosting an even bigger event next year.”

Bermuda Day Parade (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)
Bermuda Day float winners

• Premier’s Award for Best Float: CedarBridge Academy Float

• Reggie Ming Award for Most Beautiful Float: Department of Culture

• Minister’s Award for Most Original Float: Vasco da Gama Club

• Ruth Thomas Award for Best Heritage Float: Prospect Preschool

• Best Preschool Float: Prospect Preschool

• Kenneth E Robinson Award for Best Primary School Float: Harrington Sound Primary School

• Marjorie Bean Award for Best High School Float: CedarBridge Academy Float

• Best Individual Float: The Trash Gobbler (Alexander Winfield)

• LCCA Award for Best Charity Float: Jamaican Association of Bermuda

• Best Corporate Float: Padma X (Sophia Cannonier)

• Lowdru Robinson Award for Best Government Department: Department of Culture

• The Bermudian Excellence Award: CedarBridge Academy Car

• Best Historical Float: Elliott School Alumni Association

• Most Community Spirit Float: St George's Original Dancerettes

• Milestone Celebration Award: Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc — Bermuda Alumnae Chapter

• The Resilience Award: St George’s Preparatory School

• Best Tribute Award: Department of Sport and Recreation

• Most Faithful Award: One Body in Christ Movement For God’s Purpose Float

Bermuda Day Parade (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)
Bermuda Day Parade (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published May 27, 2024 at 7:53 am (Updated May 27, 2024 at 7:54 am)

Bermuda Day float winners announced

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon