Log In

Reset Password

Clinical Danielle Raynor helps leaders Phoenix Heat extend perfect run

Danielle Raynor was in clinical form as Phoenix Heat extended their flawless form at the top of the Bermuda Netball Association Senior League with a 39-19 victory over Docksiders on Saturday.

Raynor helped herself to 28 goals, with a further seven coming from Makaylie Smith, and two apiece from Eshe Grant and Sydney Santos to seal a seventh straight win for the league leaders.

Docksiders’ Olivia Bugg was also in fine shooting form, scoring 12 goals, with Alicia Churm netting the remaining seven in the losing cause.

Grant and Kiante Lightbourne shared the most valuable honours for Heat, while the Docksiders accolade went to Grant.

Heat’s lead at the top of the standings stands at four points after Storm lost further ground in their pursuit of the early pacesetters after suffering a narrow 42-37 defeat against Lindo’s Tigers.

There was no stopping the duo of JayLynn Hines, who was named most valuable player, and Jahtuere Trott, with both notching 21 goals to guide Tigers to the points, which leaves them third, four points adrift of Storm.

Amayah Smith-Burt scored 19 goals, with Zakiyah Durham chipping in with 16, and Amara Richards adding a further two in the defeat. Amali Smith was selected as Storm’s most valuable player on the day.

Saturday also saw the Who’s Who tournament run across various youth age groups.

In the Under-14 age group, Rangers were crowned champions, pipping Phoenix Ambers to the title.

En route to the top honours, Rangers overcame North Village in a 17-3 success, with Saajida Daniels named the most valuable player, Ja’Miyah Johnston their best attacker and Honor Caesar the standout defender.

Kenzie McCrary picked up the most valuable player award for North Village, while the attacker and defender accolades went to Jazmyn Sutton and Kenzie McCrary respectively.

Runners-up Phoenix Embers eased to a comfortable 31-9 victory against Storm, in which Jaya Dillas and Hailey Trott shared the MVP honours, Sanaa Grant was named best attacker and A’myah Raynor Basden the standout defender.

Diya Steede was the pick of the Storm players, while Jaylah Ible and Nala Richardson were the top attacker and defender respectively.

There was also victory for the Phoenix team who overcame North Village 13-1.

Jaya Dillas impressed highly for Phoenix, being named both the most valuable player and best attacker for her team, while Samara Johnstone-Deshield and Leona Trott shared the defensive accolade.

Jazmyn Sutton was named the standout player for North Village, with Razeeyah Robinson also recognised as her team’s best attacker and Kiera Trott the pick of the defenders.

Only two matches were concluded in the Under-17 competition, with a further three postponed because of rain.

Those that were completed featured Phoenix Fire beat North Village Whites 18-4, while Storm eased to a 17-4 success over Dandy Stars.

Nishika Bisht enjoyed an impressive match to be named both Fire’s most valuable player and best attacker, while Khylie Smith also impressed in defence.

The corresponding awards for North Village Whites went to Akina Williams, Katiah Rogers and Tanah Edwards.

Jaelyn Rewan-Lambert proved the pick of the Storm players, with Amara Richards and Deontae Scott standing out in attack and defence.

Sioma Rudo and Sarai Packwood shared the most valuable player award for Dandy Stars, with Tejah Bean the best attacker and Sioma Rudo the standout defender.

There were also three matches played at Under-11 level, with North Village and Phoenix kicking off proceedings.

Standout defender Xen Bourne impressed in defence for North Village to collect the MVP award for her team, while that accolade also went to A’Mariss Dyer for Phoenix, who also shared the best defender award with Ari Edness.

Dani Brown was the pick of the North Village attackers, K’ah Seymour was picked out for her defensive work for Phoenix.

Xen Bourne was again named the pick of the North Village players in their second match against Storm, while Priya Dill scooped the award for her team.

S’mai Tyrrell and Jayla Woodley-Herbert were selected as Village’s best attacker and defender respectively, while those same accolades went to T’jaia Butler and Trayonah Maina their team.

T’jaia Butler proved the pick of the Storm players in their next match against NPS Hotsteppers, with attacker Sah-Qurity Warner and defender T’jaia Butler also impressing.

Tamirra Richardson was named Hotsteppers most valuable player with Lyon Simons the best attacker and Arii Campbell the standout defender.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published February 22, 2023 at 7:49 am (Updated February 22, 2023 at 7:49 am)

Clinical Danielle Raynor helps leaders Phoenix Heat extend perfect run

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon