Log In

Reset Password

Second round of icons inducted into Bermuda Motorsports Hall of Fame

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next Last
motorsports hall of fame

Icons from karting, street biking, dirt biking and powerboat racing were inducted into the Bermuda Motorsports Hall of Fame at the Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute on Sunday.

The Bermuda Karting Club, the Bermuda Motocross Club, the Bermuda Power Boat Association and the Bermuda Motorcycle Racing Club each nominated five inductees who have made outstanding contributions to their sports.

Those inducted included Allan Richardson, Colin Emery, Joey Richardson, Calvin Lynch and Wendell Anderson, from the BMC, with Ed Hamilton, Ken Dear, Anthony Mello, St Clair DeShields, and Eddie Roque included from the BPBA.

Randy DeSilva

Shiela Jones, Toriano Wilson, Franz Egenolf, Troy Hill and Grant Goudge were put forward by the BMRA, while the inductees from the BKC included Ray Chiappa, David Johnson, Randy DeSilva, Veronica DeSilva and Delano Telford.

Nominees must have been an athlete, club founder, race-team owner, volunteer, mechanic, committee member, or motorsports advocate and served their clubs for at least five years.

“The event went really well and overall it was great to see everyone come out and support the inductees,” said Scott Barnes, the BKC president, who was on the judging committee alongside David Selley, the BPBA deputy commodore, Takera Dill, the BMRC president, and Ras Mykkal, a long-serving member of the BMC.

“Congratulations go out to all the inductees. We have kept the standard to make the hall of fame really high and anyone who is inducted has had to have been at the highest standard with their sport in their position.

“They are people who have gone above and beyond in their respective motorsport. That was one of the committee’s main objectives, to keep the standard high, to make sure they are hall of fame worthy.

“For us it is just so important to honour those people who have given so much in their sport. It is vital to honour those who paved the way and the event is a great way to remember the greats in motorsport.”

This year’s icons are the second inductees into the hall of fame with the first ceremony being held in 2019. Initially, organisers hoped to hold an induction ceremony annually, but the Covid-19 pandemic halted those plans.

“We’re happy to be in our second year of this event and hopefully there will no more disruptions to allow us to this every year and keep it going to honour those who deserve to be inducted,” added Barnes.

Rick Vesley.
Chris Shanks

The first 20 inductees into the hall of fame were Maynard Soares, Carlton Johnson, Joel Madeiros, Jason North and Barnes [BKC]; Robin Simmons, Burt Ingham, Chris Shanks, Rudy Cann and Aaron Pace [BMC]; Harry Cox, Richard Christensen, Lawrence Trott, Llewelyn Hollis and Mike Marshall [BPBA]; David Jones, Navell Darrell, Rick Vesely, Edward Cook Jr and Cyril Whitter III [BMRC].

Sparky DeShields

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published April 01, 2023 at 7:42 am (Updated April 01, 2023 at 7:44 am)

Second round of icons inducted into Bermuda Motorsports Hall of Fame

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon