Log In

Reset Password

Awards for technology internship graduates

First Prev 1 2 3 Next Last
Awards ceremony: internship graduates with members of the Technology Leadership Forum, and ministers Diallo Rabain and Wayne Caines (Photograph supplied)

The Technology Leadership Forum has celebrated the completion of its summer internship programme with all eight interns graduating.

The ceremony at the Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club was attended by family members and representatives from a variety of companies were in attendance.

Wayne Caines, Minister of National Security, and Diallo Rabain, the education minister, presented certificates to Matthew Correia, Justine Dzofonoo-Burch, Raven Duffy, Stephen Galloway, Sher-Kyra Outerbridge, Stephen Outerbridge, Kiara Saunders and Jalesa Vincent.

Mr Caines said: “ICT is a priority for Bermuda as it makes progress towards achieving its ambition in the fintech space. A leading fintech jurisdiction cannot properly lead without a robust posture that underpins all efforts in the technology and innovation sphere, and the TLF is a key component in that sphere.”

The Most Outstanding Student Award was presented to Matthew Correia, while the Most Improved Student Award went to Sher-Kyra Outerbridge.

Meanwhile, the Most Inspiring IT Professional Award went to two recipients, namely Chris Phillips, a 2013 TLF alumni, and board member, and Coral Wells.

During the intensive 12 weeks of the programme, interns acquired experience in the ICT industry through classroom learning, fieldwork as interns at participating companies and a team project.

TLF’s Mr Phillips thanked the sponsors. He said: “As a TLF alumni, I personally know the benefits of programme. The generosity and continued support from our sponsors make stories like mine a reality for our interns.”

The 2018 TLF sponsors include: Validus Re, the Department of ICT Policy and Innovation, CCS Group, First Atlantic Commerce, Deloitte, W&W Solutions Ltd/Connectech, Ptix & Fireminds, Argo Group, Link Bermuda and RenaissanceRe.

For more information on the Technology Leadership Forum Internship Programme, members of the public can visit http://www.TLF.bm.

Awards ceremony: Diallo Rabain, left, with Technology Leadership Forum’s most outstanding student award recipient Matthew Correia, Wayne Caines, and Chris Phillips of TLF (Photograph supplied)
Awards ceremony: Diallo Rabain, left, with Technology Leadership Forum’s most improved student award recipient Sher-Kyra Outerbridge, Wayne Caines, and Chris Phillips of TLF (Photograph supplied)