Log In

Reset Password

Dickinson names advisory committee members

Curtis Dickinson, the finance minister, has named the 11 members of the Economic Advisory Committee charged with “delivering bold ideas to shape Bermuda's future”.

International business has strong representation, including four insurance company executives, while other interests represented are the restaurants sector, construction, unions and fintech.

Mr Dickinson will chair the committee. The other members are:

• Teresa Chatfield, owner and director, MEF Bermuda

• Dennis Fagundo, co-managing director, D&J Construction and president, Chamber of Commerce

• Chris Furbert, president, Bermuda Industrial Union

• Patricia Gordon-Pamplin, shadow finance minister

• Marc Grandisson, CEO, Arch Capital Group and deputy chairman, Association of Bermuda Insurers and Reinsurers

• Cheryl-Ann Lister, chairwoman, Bermuda National Anti-Money Laundering Committee

• Michael Neff, managing director, Bermuda and International Wealth, Butterfield Group

• Sylvia Oliveira, chief executive officer, Wilton Re Bermuda and chairman, Bermuda International Long Term Insurers and Reinsurers

• Denis Pitcher, chief fintech adviser, Government of Bermuda

• Patrick Tannock, managing director, Axa XL and chairman, Association of Bermuda International Companies

• Stephen Weinstein, chief legal officer, RenaissanceRe Holdings and deputy chairman, Bermuda Business Development Agency.

Tina Tucker is the Bermuda Government liaison to the committee, while Mitchell Klink, of EY is the principal coordinator.

Mr Dickinson said tonight that the committee will work on a comprehensive plan to protect jobs and stimulate economic activity over the short, medium and long term.

“I want to give reassurance to Bermudians and to Bermudian businesses that I will work hand in glove with the Economic Advisory Committee to ensure that the future of Bermuda will be bright,” Mr Dickinson said.

“We understand and empathise with the problems that Bermudians and Bermuda's businesses are going through. We stand by you and we will help you and this committee is about doing just that — to rejuvenate our economy to benefit our people, their children and their children's children.

“The Covid-19 crisis has brought heartbreak to our community, but it also brings an important opportunity to come together and to use our diversity to think differently.

“The Government welcomes the involvement of these 11 individuals who are all deeply committed to Bermuda's economic recovery. These are all leaders in their fields and I look forward to working with them.”

The Committee will meet weekly to agree their remit as set out in the Committee's Terms of Reference which include:

• Seeking ideas from a broad cross section of Bermuda's community and from all sectors of the economy

• Recommending policies that promote growth, create jobs and improve the long-term prosperity of the island

• Providing analysis and information to improve the operations, regulations and healthy functioning of the economy

• Appointing subcommittees, as needed, to make recommendations for review by the Committee, on tourism and hospitality; technology and infrastructure; financial services; retail and services; social services and healthcare; development and construction. Subcommittees would comprise members of government, business owners, industry associations and individual stakeholders

• Proposing changes to government corporate bodies, and agencies.

Committee member: Dennis Fagundo, president of the Bermuda Chamber of Commerce

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published May 20, 2020 at 10:49 pm (Updated May 20, 2020 at 10:49 pm)

Dickinson names advisory committee members

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon