Log In

Reset Password

Musicians honoured at Mary Prince Awards

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Koeshon Smith is the 2018 recipient of the Mary Prince Award (Photograph supplied)

Artist Koeshon Smith was recently announced as the recipient of the Mary Prince Award 2018 for emerging Bermudian talent.

Songwriter, poet, musician and former journalist Ronald Lightbourne was also honoured as the Lance Hayward Award of Excellence winner at the Chewstick Foundation’s 2018 Mary Prince Award brunch.

Mr Smith, known as General Kaution, won his award in recognition of “artistic and creative expression that not only empowers the individual but also inspires the community and peers”.

He also launched a clothing line and continues to release and perform music, including fundraisers.

His music can be heard on the radio, at soundcloud.com/generalkaution and is available on iTunes and Amazon.com

Mr Smith said: “It is an honour to receive this award from Chewstick, for telling my story and giving a different viewpoint. I hope I can inspire other people to tell the truth and do what they can to pull themselves up and stay positive.”

Mr Lightbourne taught music at Simons Music School and he has led artist support classes to nurture the next generation.

His play Wilson’s Weekend was performed at the Bermuda Musical and Dramatic Society in 2016.

Accepting his award at the brunch held at Land Fall restaurant, Mr Lightbourne said: “I am honoured to accept this award given in Lance Hayward’s name. He was an early inspiration, companion and friend. This award is a positive step in recognising the Bermuda story and I am honoured to play my part and thrilled to be recognised for that.”

Former recipients of the Mary Prince Award include Aden Peets, Yesha Townsend, Quinn Outerbridge, Derek Simmons; Makeem ‘Haz’ Bartley, Marquedelle Rodriguez, and Jahroy ‘Kidd Clazzic’ Richards.

The winner of the inaugural Lance Hayward Award of Excellence category last year was John Woolridge.

The May 20 gathering was the first time the ceremony was held during Heritage Month, but the Chewstick Foundation hopes to continue the tradition.

Ronald Lightbourne is the winner of the Lance Hayward Award of Excellence at the Mary Prince Awards 2018 (Photograph supplied)