Log In

Reset Password

Mexico give Bermuda a thumping

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Attacking from deep: Mexico launch another try-scoring effort during Saturday’s game (Photograph courtesy of americasrugbynews.com)

Mexico ran in 11 tries as they thumped Bermuda 75-10 in a one-sided affair in Mexico City on Saturday.

Christian Henning ran in four tries, Luis Márquez and Gonzalo Pons scored two apiece, and there were also scores for Andres Rodriguez, Simon Pierre, and Luis Arrendondo.

Agustín Sanchez, the full back, kicked ten of his 11 conversion attempts in almost flawless all-round display.

Still, the home side did not have things all their own way, falling behind to a Tommy Edwards penalty goal in the fifth minute. Marquez, the Mexico wing, broke away to put his side ahead, a try that Sanchez converted.

Edwards though put Bermuda back in front after intercepting an errant pass and running 50 metres to score under the posts, Dan Cole’s conversion gave Bermuda a 10-7 lead with 15 minutes gone.

That though was as good as it got for the visiting side, who despite chances for Tom Healy and Jahniko Francis, had no answer to Mexico’s clinical finishing.

Henning, the outside centre, scored the first of his four scores to put Mexico back in front and while Bermuda’s dominant scrum kept them in the game in the first half, going in only 28-10 down, after the break it was all one-way traffic.

Bermuda now host the Bahamas on June 4, while Mexico will have a month-long wait before welcoming the Cayman Islands on July 2.

Scoring sequence (Mexico first): 0-3, 7-3, 7-10, 14-10, 21-10, 28-10, HT 35-10, 42-10, 49-10, 54-10, 61-10, 68-10, 75-10.

Mexico: Tries: L. Márquez 2 (9min, 59), C Henning 4 (22, 32, 44, 52), L Arredondo (36), A Rodriguez (46), G Pons 2 (54, 79), S Pierre (73). Conversions: A Sanchez 10 (10, 24, 33, 37, 45, 47, 53, 55, 74, 80).

Bermuda: Try: T Edwards (15). Conversion: D Cole (16). Penalty Goal: T Edwards (5).

Mexico: 15-Agustín Sanchez; 14-Luis Márquez, 13-Christian Henning, 12-Pascal Nadaud, 11-Luis Arredondo; 10-Miguel Carner, 9 Andrés Rodriguez. 1-Marcos Flegmann 2-Mizael Loredo 3-Max Douek (captain), 4-Santiago Prieto 5-Roberto Calderon, 6-Raul Reyes, 7-Alberto Ruiz, 8-Simon Pierre. Replacements: 16-Jesus Rico, 17-Erik Castillo, 18-Cesar Treviño, 19-Gonzalo Pons, 20-Santiago Leboriero, 21-Yeudiel Suro, 22-Diego Ramirez, 23-Rodrigo Ripol.

Bermuda: 15-Dan Cole; 14-Antonio Perinchief-Leader, 13-Aldon Campbell, 12-Paddy Graham, 11-Nigel Burgess; 10-Tommy Edwards, 9-Tom Healy. 1-Darren Richardson, 2-Conor McGlynn, 3-Dustin Archibald, 4-Peter Dunkerley (captain), 5-Adam Richards, 6-Thomas Greenslade, 7-Bennet Gibson, 8-Roedolf van der Westhuizen. Replacements: 16-Chris Stafford, 17-Jahan Cedenio, 18-Chris La Placa, 19-Tashon De Silva, 20-Aldo Campbell, 21-Richard Howells, 22-Jahniko Francis, 23-Mandela Caesar.

Referee: Harry Mason (Canada)