Log In

Reset Password

BLTA names world championship squad

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last
Jae Gibbons

The Bermuda Lawn Tennis Association have confirmed a team of three boys and three girls to compete at the ITF/COTECC 12 and under World Team Championships in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic from July 10-15.

The team will be made up of Mackai Whitter, Antonio Warner, Matthew Way, Asia-Leigh Hollis, Airez Gilbert-Simons and Jae Gibbons.

The young players will be accompanied by coach Steve Bean.

“We have a very strong group of 12 and under players on the island at the moment, which is a true testament to the BLTA developmental programme and the local pros affiliated with the BLTA pro-registry,” said Ricky Mallory, the national tennis director.

“I’m expecting big things from this group of juniors as I feel they have the potential to place in the top two and qualify for the next round.”

Bermuda will be competing in the tournament with seven other countries — Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico and host Dominican Republic.

The BLTA was able to send the team thanks to the generous support of principal sponsor, Independent Management Ltd and donations from other sources.

Those interested in making additional donations to the team can contact info@blta.bm.

Airez Gilbert-Simons
Antonio Warner
Asia-Leigh Hollis
Mackai Whitter
Mathew Way