Log In

Reset Password

Swan Series continues with Ludwig Cann 10K

The Swan’s Running Club Legends Race Series will resume at Astwood Park this month with a race honouring late running stalwart Ludwig Cann.

The Swan’s Running Club Legends Series continues this month with the Ludwig Cann 10K set to be held at Astwood Park.

The event will be held on April 10 and is the penultimate stop in the four-race series honouring the legacy of some of Bermuda's greatest runners.

Categories include Under 20, Open (29 to 39), Masters (40 to 49), Seniors (50 to 59), Veterans (60 plus) and Legends (70 plus).

The race starts at the western entrance to Astwood Park, with competitors travelling west along South Shore Road to Church Bay and back before entering the eastern gate to the park heading to the finish line.

The series is held in recognition of local running legends Stanley Burgess, Ed Sherlock, Raymond Swan and Ludwig Cann.

It also includes the Ed Sherlock 10K, Ray Swan 8K and the “Sir” Stanley Burgess 5K.

Participants will earn points for their placement in each race with the top male and female who have accrued the highest points in the best three of four results being crowned the Legends champion.

Double points will be awarded to all participants in the fourth and final race of the series.

It is mandatory for athletes within the series to participate in no fewer than three of the four races, which will be certified and sanctioned by the Bermuda National Athletics Association.

In the event of a tie, the tiebreaker will be determined by the fastest recorded time in the first event date where both individuals participated.

Additionally, the first male and female winner in each age category will win the series titles and receive trophies. Overall winners are not eligible for age group awards.

Shannon Lawrence and Gayle Lindsay won the fourth series last year.

Lawrence won the overall male Legends trophy with Lindsay retaining her overall female title, having amassed the most points from their best three results.

In the age-group categories, Tom Neill was the male Open winner while Kiki Oyemhen won the female title in the same division.

Chris Parry and Renée Gilchrist took the respective male and female masters titles while Scott Neil and Lecole Richardson won the seniors category. Tommy Sinclair and Mayberline Black were the veterans winners.

The previous series started in February 2020 and ended virtually 16 months later due to the Covid-19 pandemic with the fourth race in June last year, which involved 34 runners.

For further details on the series and registration visit www.racedayworld.com or e-mail aspkms@yahoo.com.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published April 02, 2022 at 7:47 am (Updated April 04, 2022 at 8:05 am)

Swan Series continues with Ludwig Cann 10K

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon