Banned, restricted dogs breed reminder

A reminder of the banned and restricted breeds of dogs has been issued by the Department of Environmental Protection.

It came in aftermath of a Magistrates’ Court case in which a dog owner was fined $1,000 for possessing two unlicensed pit bulls — a banned breed.

The Department listed the following prohibited dogs, which are illegal to own, import or breed: American Pit Bull Terrier, American Bulldog, American Staffordshire terrier, Argentine Mastiff, Boerboel, Brazilian Mastiff or Fila, Cane Corso, Presa Canario, Neapolitan Mastiff, Tosa Inu, wolf and wolf hybrid.

Any cross breed of prohibited dogs is also illegal under the Dogs Act 1978. The list excludes dogs which were licensed during an amnesty in 2011.

Prohibited dogs acquired after the amnesty cannot be licensed, and their owners are liable for prosecution.

Restricted breeds are subjected to rules on ownership, such as special enclosures and property inspections. Restrictions apply to the following: Akita, Australian Cattle Dog, Belgian Malinois, Bouvier des Flandres, Bull Terrier, Bullmastiff, Chow Chow, Doberman Pinscher, Dogue de Bordeaux, German Shepherd, English Mastiff, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Rottweiler and Staffordshire Bull Terrier — along with any crossbreed.

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Aug 26, 2014 at 8:00 am (Updated Aug 26, 2014 at 12:07 am)

Banned, restricted dogs breed reminder

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    • "Who are your favourites to win the Cricket World Cup?"
    • Australia
    • 11%
    • Bangladesh
    • 3%
    • England
    • 28%
    • India
    • 17%
    • New Zealand
    • 5%
    • Pakistan
    • 4%
    • South Africa
    • 4%
    • West Indies
    • 27%
    • Total Votes: 3942
    • Poll Archive

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts