Log In

Reset Password

Stevenson wins the $10,000 Charman Prize

Filmmaker Andrew Stevenson was yesterday presented with $10,000 as the winner of the 2011 Charman Prize.

Mr Stevenson was named the grand prize winner having submitted his film ‘Where the Whales Sing’ for judges’ consideration.

The competition saw 105 entries on the theme, Bermuda Inspirations. Eighty of the works submitted were accepted for the Charman Prize exhibit, which will display at the Masterworks Museum of Modern Art through December 3.

Mr Stevenson was named the grand winner at a special opening of the exhibit at Masterworks last night.

Prizes of $2,500 were awarded to Gavin Djata Smith, David Mitchell, Graham Foster and Jacqueline Alma for their respective works.

Honourable-mention prizes of $100 were awarded to Lloyd Webbe, Nick Minugh, Robert Bassett, April Dawn Branco, Vaughan Evans, Geralyn Counsell, Sharon Wilson, Scott Hill, Libby Cook-Toppan, Scott Stallard, Althea Overbey and Jonah Jones.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published September 03, 2011 at 9:13 am (Updated September 03, 2011 at 9:12 am)

Stevenson wins the $10,000 Charman Prize

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon