Twenty20 schedule announced – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Twenty20 schedule announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule for next month’s World Twenty20 global qualifiers involving Bermuda in Dubai. Bermuda’s senior national cricket squad will kick off their qualifying campaign against Denmark on March 13 at the Academy Oval before taking on Hong Kong on March 14 at the same venue. March 15 will see Bermuda face the Netherlands at Sheikh Zayed Stadium and Canada on March 16 at Dubai Sports City Stadium. Following a two-day rest, Bermuda will face Nepal at Sheikh Zayed Stadium and Papua New Guinea on March 19 at the Academy Oval. Bermuda will then complete the group phase of the 16-team tournament against Afghanistan at Academy Oval on March 20. The top three teams from each group move forward to the next qualifying round. Only two of the 16 teams involved in the tournament will advance to the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in Sri Lanka later this year. Bermuda have been placed in Group A. Read more in tomorrow’s Royal Gazette.

Bermuda plays the Cayman Islands in Twenty20 cricket in 2010. Bermuda's schedule for the World Twenty20 qualifying tournament has been released. (Photo By Akil Simmons)