Log In

Reset Password

A good way to celebrate historic achievement

Howzat: Leverock appeals for a catch from a Ryan Steede delivery while, right, Jones bowls during the game at Sea Breeze Oval

The last Bermuda cricket team to compete in the ICC Trophy marked the tenth anniversary of their qualification for the 2007 ICC World Cup with a comfortable five-wicket victory over the Bermuda Masters at Sea Breeze Oval on Saturday.

Malachi Jones claimed four wickets before Wendell White struck an unbeaten 41 to complete the 2005 Bermuda ICC Trophy squad’s comfortable victory.

The Bermuda Masters found themselves in early trouble at 30 for six after being sent in to bat, with new ball pair Jones and Ryan Steede wreaking havoc on the batsmen.

“They hit a line and length the batsmen could not deal with so we brought on our wicketkeepers Dean Minors and Kwame Tucker to ease them up,” Lionel Cann, the Bermuda team manager, said.

“Dean and Kwame bowled off spin and both of them could have got called for chucking.”

The Bermuda Masters posted 102 all out with Kyle Lightbourne top scoring with 30.

Jones took four wickets for eight runs while spinners Dwayne Leverock and Minors took two for 30 and two for four.

Bermuda’s 2005 ICC Trophy squad replied with 103 for five to clinch victory with plenty of wickets in hand.

White led the way with his unbeaten innings while Steede thumped 22 and Janeiro Tucker 18.

“We wanted to get it over as quickly as possible,” Cann said. “It was a lot of fun and a good way to celebrate our tenth anniversary of qualifying for the 2007 World Cup.

“The fans really enjoyed it. They had some good laughs and a good time and said we should have this match more often.”

Sammy Robinson was the pick of the Bermuda Masters bowling with two wickets.