Log In

Reset Password

Celebrities ready for Hiscox festival

The eighth Hiscox Celebrity Cricket Festival will be held tomorrow at the North Field, National Sports Centre.

The festival, which starts with the 11-and-under League Skills and Drills Tournament at 8.30am, is designed to celebrate community-based youth cricket and to raise money for the Bermuda Cricket Board youth programmes.

The celebrities taking part include the Governor, George Fergusson, Michael Dunkley, the Premier, Jimmy Spithill, the America's Cup sailor, and John Layfield, the former WWE wrestler.

The All-star game between the celebrities and under-11s will start at noon.

Thirty players representing 15 clubs, including three females, will make up the under-11 team.

Once again, the annual BCB raffle will be drawn on the day. All proceeds will go towards the BCB Youth Development programme, which provides free cricket opportunities to Bermuda's youth, reaching boys and girls aged 5 to 19. The raffle tickets are $5 each and include many prizes valued at more than $1,000.

“This is a great day out for the family and I would like to encourage everyone to come out to support our boys and girls taking on the celebrities,” Lloyd Fray, the president of the BCB, said.


Under-11 All-Stars: Samir Tavares-Place, Leule Simmons (Southampton Rangers); Rosie Simmons, Chanz Goodwin, Jessie Debraga (Axis Angels); Harry Twite (Warwick Academy); Dante Hayward, Jayden Correira (PHC Black); Toran Place, Eijaz Shakir (PHC White); Keiaron Bean, Ajani Zuill (Western Stars); Kyon Place, Katherine Bean (Somerset Cricket Club); Charlie Thompson, Omari DeShields (Warwick); Michael DeSilva, Gregory Talbot (Cleveland); Kriston Adams Jr, Nakejae Caines (St George's Cricket Club); Nathaniel Swan, Toby Freisenbruch (Flatts); Riley Morbey, Aunde Todd (Prep Stars); Keyan Webb, Juttore Burgess (Bailey's Bay Red); Gianni Burgess, Adio DeShields (Bailey's Bay White); Se-Qui Robinson, Daente Burgess (St David's).

Celebrities: George Fergusson, John Layfield, Michael Dunkley, Patrina “Power Girl” Paynter, Sylvan Richards, Nandi Outerbridge, Rob Childs, Jimmy Spithill, Jeff Baron, Sherri Berri, Justin Freisenbruch, Chris Draper, Jeremy Pinchin, Iain Percy, Jeanne Atherden, Lynwood “Brotha Richie” Richardson, Nikita Robinson, Nadanja Bailey, DJ Chubb, Donna Raynor, Antoine Daniels, Ryan Mather, Jordan Smith, Greg Haft, Spencer Butterfield, Richard Slater, Chris Dart, Lindsay Watson.

Ready to go: Toran Place warms up on the sidelines at last year's festival. Place will be involved again tomorrow (File photograph)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 03, 2016 at 9:00 am (Updated June 03, 2016 at 11:39 am)

Celebrities ready for Hiscox festival

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon