Log In

Reset Password

St George’s complete dramatic comeback to steal T20 title on net run-rate

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Last
It's nice: Onias Bascome, the St George's captain, smiles after receiving the Twenty20 trophy from Steven Douglas, the BCB cricket committee chairman (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Wellington Oval(Willow Cuts won toss): St George’s beat Willow Cuts by eight wickets

St George’s landed the Twenty20 Premier Division title yesterday after the second of two wins on the weekend that catapulted them over longtime leaders Southampton Rangers and Somerset.

Inspired by the explosive hitting of Allan Douglas Jr, not only did St George’s make up six points on Rangers but they also significantly overhauled both they and an impressive Somerset set-up on net run-rate heading into the weekend — making their task pretty academic with no need for the calculators.

Just win!

Temiko Wilson, centre, celebrates with team-mates Treadwell Gibbons and captain Onias Bascome after they led the team to victory over Willow Cup to claim the Twenty20 league title (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
St George’s fans mob batsmen Treadwell Gibbons and Onias Bascome, the captain, after they clinched the T20 title with victory over Willow Cuts at Wellington Oval (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

The first win was on Saturday against Rangers, the defending champions, in a rain-affected make-up match from July. Twenty-four hours later, they scored another impressive victory after restricting bottom team Willow Cuts to 130 for six in their 20 overs and then reaching the target with 28 balls to spare.

The final blow: Onias Bascome hits the winning six off Dwight Basden to seal an eight-wicket victory for St George's over Willow Cuts that wrapped up the Twenty20 Premier Division on net run-rate (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
Treadwell Gibbons hit 45 not out in an unbroken stand of 106 for the third wicket with his captain, Onias Bascome. Gibbons also held two catches in the Willow Cuts innings (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
We can do it: Treadwell Gibbons and Onias Bascome chat between overs during their century partnership, which gave St George's an eight-wicket victory over Willow Cuts to clinch the Twenty20 Premier Division title (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
Captain Onias Bascome and all-rounder Allan Douglas Jr with the Twenty20 Premier Division trophy after dramatically clinching the league on net run-rate on Sunday (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
It's ours: captain Onias Bascome, left, who scored a match-clinching 58 not out, and Allan Douglas Jr, who hit three centuries in four innings, show off the Twenty20 Premier Division trophy with assistant coach Clay Smith and head coach Wendell Smith (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
Antonio Darrell was the high man for Willow Cuts with 34 not out off 38 balls (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)
St George's share their Twenty20 Premier Division title success with their young friends and family at Wellington Oval on Sunday after an eight-wicket victory over Willow Cuts (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Douglas and Oronde Bascome, their batting heroes in the past few games, were dismissed inside the first four overs after both played on to balls from Cuts captain Kwasi James in successive overs.

However, there would be no further success for the visiting bowlers as captain Onias Bascome and veteran Treadwell Gibbons Jr carried the score from 26 for two to 132, with Bascome smashing a six off Dwight Basden over square leg to complete the victory.

Bascome was high man with 58 not out from 47 balls, hitting six sixes and two fours, while Gibbons was 45 not out off 33 balls, with four fours and two sixes.

“It feels good, the coach told me to go out there and bring it home today and play the captain’s role,” said Onias Bascome, whose team were not so long ago contemplating relegation rather than lifting silverware.

“Hats off to Kwasi James and Micah Simons, who were their two top bowlers. Once we got past them, I knew we had a very strong chance of winning the game.”

Gibbons’s calm head was just what the new champions needed as Cuts sought a breakthrough.

“Treddie has done that very well throughout the season, supporting the likes of Allan and Oronde,” the captain said.

“He knows his role and did it to a T today, supporting me and staying there to the end with me. Oronde and Allan put us in this position, although it didn’t work for them today.

“We have a deep batting line-up and, as the captain, I took it upon myself to end the game.”

Steven Douglas, the Bermuda Cricket Board’s cricket committee chairman, was on hand to present the trophy to the new champions, who won five games on the trot.

James, who shared the new ball with Simons for Cuts, claimed two for 25 off his four overs, as Bascome and Gibbons hardly looked bothered once they settled in.

Even the two wickets that fell had a slice of bad luck, Oronde Bascome driving against his pad and the ball rebounding to hit his wicket. Two overs later, Douglas got a bottom edge to an attempted square cut, which deflected on to his stumps.

Cuts put on 38 for the first wicket in 4.5 overs through James and Ras Solomon Burrows, most of them extras. However, they quickly slumped to 79 for five in the space of eight overs before a sixth-wicket stand of 50 between Antonio Darrell and Dean Stephens took them to 129 when the latter was out for 29 having hit three fours and two sixes.

Darrell, who came in at No 4, was high man with 34 not out from 37 balls with three fours and a six.

St George’s spinner Nzari Paynter took two for 13 off three overs and Detroy Smith claimed two for 29 from four overs. Macai Simmons, in his second match back from a broken hand, claimed one for ten from two overs while Isaiah Greaves took one for 12.


Willow Cuts

*K James c Gibbons b Smith 9

S Burrows b Smith 11

S Raynor c Darrell b Paynter 5

A Darrell not out 34

†S Bean c Greaves b Paynter 13

R Simmons lbw b Greaves 1

D Stephens c Gibbons b Simmons 29

D Basden not out 0

Extras (b 4, lb 1, nb 1, w 22) 28

Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 130

B Spencer, M Simons and K Williams did not bat.

Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-44, 3-50, 4-78, 5-79, 6-129.

Bowling: Darrell 2-0-13-0; Gibbons 3-0-19-0; Smith 4-0-29-2; Paynter 3-1-13-2; Greaves 2-1-12-1; Douglas 2-0-19-0; Onias Bascome 2--0-10-0; Simmons 2-0-10-1.

St George’s

A Douglas Jr b James 10

Oronde Bascome b James 6

Onias Bascome not out 58

T Gibbons Jr not out 45

Extras (b 7, nb 1, w 5) 13

Total (2 wkts, 15.2 overs) 132

†T Wilson, M Simmons, D Smith, J Darrell, I Greaves, N Paynter and Oyinde Bascome did not bat.

Fall of wickets: 1-21, 2-26.

Bowling: Simons 4-1-20-0; James 4-0-25-2; Stevens 2-0-15-0; Darrell 2-0-21-0; Raynor 1-0-17-0; Basden 1.2-0-25-0; Burrows 1-0-2-0.

Umpires: A Knight and S Caines.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published September 07, 2021 at 8:06 am (Updated September 07, 2021 at 8:06 am)

St George’s complete dramatic comeback to steal T20 title on net run-rate

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon