Log In

Reset Password

Bermuda thrash Bahamas to finish T20 qualifiers in style

First Prev 1 2 3 Next Last
Captain Delray Rawlins and coach Niraj Odedra with the tournament trophy

Hurlingham Club Ground (Bermuda won toss): Bermuda (2pts) beat Bahamas (0) by nine wickets

Bermuda have rounded off their ICC T20 World Cup Americas Sub-Regional Qualifier campaign in style with an easy win over Bahamas.

For the first time in the tournament, Bermuda opted to bowl first after winning the toss and they ripped through the opening order to leave Bahamas 24 for seven after 10.1 overs.

Spinner Derrick Brangman led the way with four wickets for 15 runs from his four overs as he came close to becoming only the second Bermudian to take five wickets in a T20 international after Allan Douglas Jr achieved the feat against Cayman Islands in 2019 at White Hill Field.

Coach Niraj Odedra, captain Delray Rawlins, Derrick Brangman and Justin Pitcher

A disciplined knock by opener Jonathan Barry, who remained at the crease for the entire Bahamas innings for 31 runs, helped his team to recover to 73 for nine off their 20 overs but that was never going to be enough against a Bermuda batting line-up in seriously good form.

Only Barry and No 9 batter Dwight Wheatley reached double figures for Bahamas, with Kamau Leverock, Jabari Darrell, Delray Rawlins and Malachi Jones all chipping in with at least one wicket to supplement Brangman’s fantastic spell.

It was Darrell who made the breakthrough in the second over when he had captain Marc Taylor caught for just three runs, and with Brangman getting the next two batsmen, Festus Benn and Gregory Taylor, out for ducks, Bahamas were eight for three and facing their work cut out to avoid their lowest score in a T20 international.

It did not get much better, as Jones took a good catch off the bowling of Leverock to dismiss Turan Brown (3) before Kervon Hinds (5) fell when Jones accepted a return catch to have Bahamas reeling at 18 for five off 7.2 overs.

Niraj Odedra and Kamau Leverock, who won the player of the tournament and best batsman awards

Bahamas wicketkeeper Julio Jemison went for just one after being caught and bowled by Rawlins, with Sandeep Goud falling for the same score after being skittled by the Bermuda captain.

Wheatley and Barry then managed to put on 25 runs for the eighth wicket before Tre Manders took a fantastic low catch to dismiss the former. Junior Scott became Brangman’s last victim when out leg-before without scoring with No 11 Narendra Ekanayake putting on 19 runs for the last wicket with Barry.

It took just 7.2 overs for Bermuda to chase down the target of 73, with Leverock top scorer with 48 not out off 26 balls. He will also end the tournament as leading scorer with 202 runs at an average of 67.33.

Such was Bermuda’s dominance, only five batters made it to the crease during the four matches and they lost only seven wickets in the entire competition.

In the tournament finale, Cayman Islands stunned Argentina by three wickets off a last-ball no-ball that went for two to ensure the host nation misses out on getting to Bermuda for the regional final in September and October.



*M Taylor c Pitcher b Darrell 3

J Barry not out 30

F Benn c Fray b Brangman 0

G Taylor c and b Brangman 0

T Brown c Jones b Leverock 3

K Hinds c and b Jones 5

†J Jemison c and b Rawlins 1

S Goud b Rawlins 1

D Wheatley c Manders b Brangman 16

J Scott lbw b Brangman 0

N Harshanaath Ekanayake not out 7

Extras (lb 2, w 5) 7

Total (9 wkts; 20 overs) 73

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-8, 3-8, 4-12, 5-18, 6-19, 7-24, 8-49, 9-54.

Bowling: Rawlins 4-1-18-2; Leverock 4-0-13-1; Darrell 4-0-13-1; Brangman 4-0-15-4; Jones 4-0-12-1.


K Leverock not out 48

T Manders c Taylor b Barry 13

T Fray not out 9

Extras (nb 1, w 3) 4

Total (1 wkt; 7.2 overs) 74

*D Rawlins, D Sabir, †S Smith, M Jones, D Brangman, J Darrell, J Richardson and J Pitcher did not bat.

Fall of wicket: 1-50.

Bowling: Hinds 2-0-20-0; M Taylor 2-0-23-0; Benn 2-0-21-0; Barry 1.2-0-10-1.

Umpires: S Bandekar (United States) and V Mallela (United States).

Third umpire: A Madella (Canada).

Match referee: R King (Guyana).

Other match

Belgrano Athletic Club Ground (Argentina won toss): Argentina 125-7 (20 overs; A Ferguson 50; T Taylor 3 for 22); Cayman Islands 126-7 (19.5 overs; Y Seneveratne 44, P Manning 31). Cayman Islands (2pts) beat Argentina (0) by three wickets.

Final table


Bermuda (q) 4 4 0 0 0 8 4.897

Cayman Islands (q) 4 3 1 0 0 6 −0.638

Panama (q) 4 1 3 0 0 2 −0.413

Argentina 4 1 3 0 0 2 −1.527

Bahamas 4 1 3 0 0 2 −1.785

The result match means Panama, the lowest-ranked team at the start of the tournament, finish third on net run-rate and make an unlikely trip to these parts to face off against Bermuda and Cayman again, as well as regional powerhouse Canada.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published March 06, 2023 at 7:54 am (Updated March 06, 2023 at 7:54 am)

Bermuda thrash Bahamas to finish T20 qualifiers in style

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon