Log In

Reset Password

BCB to honour female cricketers at annual awards

First Prev 1 2 3 Next Last
Up for honours: Devonshire Rec will be recognised for winning the women’s T20 league and knockout competition (Photograph by Mehluli Sibanda)

Outstanding female cricketers from the inaugural women’s T20 league will be honoured when the Bermuda Cricket Board holds its annual awards ceremony at Gosling’s Wine Cellar on Friday night.

During the awards, the BCB will acknowledge those who excelled in domestic and international cricket for the island.

“We have our annual prizegiving ceremony to recognise the outstanding players and teams, both domestically and internationally,’’ Cal Blankendal, the BCB executive director said.

“We will award prizes to teams who won various competitions, 50 overs and T20. We’re also recognising the senior national team for the success they had.

Warwick Workmen's finished as runners-up in the league and knockout competition (Photograph by Mehluli Sibanda)

“This year will be significant because there will be a women’s category as the women had their own league and T20 knockout competition for the first time.

“It should be a great event, with both male and female participants for the first time, also including the senior men’s national team. Traditional categories such as best batsman, best bowler in each category, and team awards will also be held.”

Devonshire Rec won the league and the knockout in the first-ever structured women’s competition. Warwick Workmen’s Club were runners-up.

Delray Rawlins is the front-runner for the BCB MVP award (Photograph by Ras Mykkal)

Precious Smith, the Devonshire Rec captain, and Chantal Oosthuizen the Warwick team leader are the front-runners for the female MVP accolade, with the two outstanding with bat and ball for their respective teams.

Other players in contention Jashay Trott, Tanisha Manders, Karen Hodgson, Gabby Johnson, Amara Richards, Chloe Card, and Chevonne Furbert.

Bermuda captain Delray Rawlins is favourite for the male MVP award after an excellent season to inspire Bailey’s Bay to their first Premier Division 50 Overs title in eleven years, during a season they finished unconquered in that format of the game.

St George’s captain Onias Bascome, his team-mate Zeko Burgess, Somerset’s Dominic Sabir, Macquille Walker, Tre Manders, and Brian Hall could also be rewarded for good seasons.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published November 23, 2023 at 7:04 pm (Updated November 23, 2023 at 7:04 pm)

BCB to honour female cricketers at annual awards

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon