Hopkins times it right – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Hopkins times it right

Kaden Hopkins continued his strong start to the shortened cycling season after winning his second successive time-trial race.

Hopkins followed up his win in the VT Construction Individual Time-Trial last weekend with a comfortable victory in the Bermuda Rouleurs Cycle Club Individual Time-Trial today.

The 20-year-old clocked a time of 44min 32sec in the Open Male division, averaging 27½ miles per hour during the two-lap 32.8-kilometre course, which finished with a steep climb to St David's Lighthouse.

Conor White was the closest challenger, finishing in 44:24 with Alex Pilgrim rounding out the top three in 50:25.

In the Male Masters category, Geoff Smith was first in 51:00 with Kris Hedges, the former Caribbean time-trial champion and three-times Sinclair Packwood Memorial Road Race winner, 50 seconds behind and Fabian Schonenberg third in 53.21.

Top local triathlete Karen Smith (59:31), Caroline Wright (1:01:20) and Jennifer Lightbourne (1:02:11) were the top three female finishers.

In the 15.8-kilometre short-course race, Nicholas Narraway, competing in the Junior Male 17-18 category, took top honours in 22:27, averaging 26.2mph.

Liam Flannery finished second in 23:11 with Alexander Miller, last weekend's age group winner, coming third in 23:24.

Tommy Marshall (26:17), Cameron Morris (26:55) and Moses Johnson (28:37) were the top three finishers in the Junior Male 15-16 division.

Other category winners saw fast-improving Liana Medeiros first in the Junior Female 15-16 age group in 31:16; Jasmin Hasselkuss in the Junior Female 13-14 division (32:45) and Zach Muniz in the Junior Male 11-12 category (40:01).


Individual Time-Trial

Open Male

Kaden Hopkins 44:32

Conor White 46:24

Alex Pilgrim 50:25

Toby Wright 51:14

Chase Burgess 1:02:42

Male Masters

Geoff Smith 51:00

Kris Hedges 51:50

Fabian Schonenberg 53:21

Richard Bruton 55:35

Steven Wells 56:20

Dennis Fagundo 56:59

Ricky Smith 58:17

Will Peckett 59:02

Steve O'Reilly 59:47

Randolph Smith 1:00:05

Matthew Ringer 1:09:47

Masters Female

Karen Smith 59:31

Caroline Wright 1:01:20

Jennifer Lightbourne 1:02:11

Claire McDevitt 1:04:09

Penelope Butterfield 1:05:28

Junior Male Under-17-18

Nicholas Narraway 22:27

Liam Flannery 23:11

Alexander Miller 23:24

Keiran Malott 26:57

Junior Male Under-15-16

Tommy Marshall 26:17

Cameron Morris 26:55

Junior Male Under-11-12

Callum MacFarlane 33:47

Zach Moniz 40:01

Junior Female 15-16

Moses Johnson 28:37

Liana Medeiros 31:16

Jessica Hall 37:00

Junior Female 13-14

Jasmin Hasselkuss 32:45

Charlotte Millington 36:06

Junior Female 13-14

Zoe Hasselkuss DNF

Male Masters

Neil Lupsic Gnosis DSQ

Kaden Hopkins

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published July 19, 2020 at 7:20 pm (Updated July 20, 2020 at 12:23 am)

Hopkins times it right

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon