Log In

Reset Password

Off-trackers hit the road for team time-trial

The Bermuda Bicycle Association will kick off its road racing season with the KPMG Team Time-Trial tomorrow with adult and junior races along North Shore Road starting at 7.30am.

Covid protocols will be observed, including masks to be worn by everyone, with participants able to remove them before competing. Participants should arrive ten minutes before their scheduled start and depart immediately after completing their race.

“Covid is challenging everybody, we think we’re in a slightly more fortunate position because we can create cycle race structures that comply with the maximum 25,” Peter Dunne, the race organiser and BBA president, said yesterday.

Alexander Miller may have been declared the overall winner of the One Communications Mountain Bike Series on a technicality but he will be more at home when the road racing season starts tomorrow (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

“This Sunday we’re starting with the team time-trial so there is no big group going at one time and we have a plan to manage the people in the start and finish areas. In that regard we’re trying to keep a smile on our faces even though Covid has had such an impact on everybody’s life.

“It’s a good event, under normal times a fairly social event. We’ll have a good turnout — 28 teams in total, seven in the youth category (14 and under), which is really good. It shows we have a lot of kids who are interested in the competitive component of the sport.”’

The 14-and-under teams will ride a 2.5-mile course from just east of the Black Watch Pass roundabout to the Barker’s Hill roundabout and back. All other teams will start at the same location but continue along North Shore to the roundabout at Swizzle Inn before returning to North Shore , a distance of 13.4 miles.

Teams of four will leave at three-minute intervals from 7.30am with the team finish time taken on the third rider to cross the finish line.

Dominique Mayho, who competed in the final race of the mountain bike series last weekend, will be more at home on the road as he competes with his VT Madison team, who also include Jamie Cousins, Toby Wright and Steve Smith.

Caitlin Conyers, the top female rider, will be in a team that includes Andrew Miller, Liam Flannery and Cameron Morris as they look to challenge for top honours.

BBA rules apply, including junior gearing restrictions. All participants must be up-to-date BBA members.

• Alexander Miller and Jennifer Wilson were declared the male and female Open 60 Minutes category winners after the completion last weekend of the One Communications Mountain Bike Series at Ferry Reach.

Robin Horsfield won all five races he completed in to amass 125 points, but Miller totalled 138 points after competing in six of the seven races. Miller finished with two firsts at the Arboretum and Southlands, and four second-place finishes behind Horsfield at Lagoon Park, Admiralty House, Hog Bay Park and Ferry Reach. The best six finishes counted towards the final tally.

Third on 117 points was Alan Potts with two seconds and a third among his best finishes, as he completed all seven races. Liam Flannery was fourth on 102 points and David Byrne fifth on 100 points.

Wilson finished as the top female rider with 135 points after a first and five seconds in the required six races. McPhee completed a perfect winning streak with victory at Ferry Reach last weekend, but she completed in only five races for her 125 points.

Ashley Robinson was third overall with 118 points from five third places, and Jennifer Lightbourne fourth on 103 points. She finished third in five of her six races.

In the Men’s Open 30 Minutes races, Nico Davis was first with 138 points from six races, which included four firsts and a second as his best finishes. Michael Terceira was second on 123 points from a first, a second and two thirds as his best finishes.

Chad Townsell finished third on 121 points after one win and two seconds in his seven races.

In the women’s Open 30 Minutes, Caroline Wright was first on countback and Christine Soutter second after they finished level on 141 points from seven races. Each had three wins and three second-place finishes, with their non-counting race being third. Zina Jones was third overall on 122 points after collecting a second and five third-place finishes in her seven races.

In the boys 13-15 category, Jackson Langley was first on 141 points from three firsts and three seconds in seven races, while Gordon Smith finished second on 136 points after four wins and a second in six races.

In the girls 13-15 category, Zylah Bean was first on 138 points from two wins and four seconds. S’Nya Cumbermack was one race short of a series win after she recorded five wins in five races for 125 points, but had to settle for second place.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published March 20, 2021 at 8:00 am (Updated March 19, 2021 at 9:11 pm)

Off-trackers hit the road for team time-trial

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon