Log In

Reset Password

BJC Team Time-Trial recap

First Prev 1 2 3 Next Last
Dominant force: Conor White, left, Kwame Curling, Fabian Schonenberg and Jamie Cousins claimed victory in the Open category of the Bermuda Junior Cycling Team Time-Trial on Sunday (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)
Runners-up: The team consisting of Grant Goudge, Brian Steinhoff, Clifford Roberts and Alan Potts finished second in the BJC Team Time Trial (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)
Pedal power: the team of Cora Lee Starzomski, Ashley Couper, Rose-Anna Hoey and Maddie Durkin proved the fastest female team in the BJC Team Time-Trial (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Jamie Cousins, Conor White, Fabian Schonenberg and Kwame Curling proved the dominant force in the Bermuda Junior Cycling Team Time-Trial, sealing a comfortable victory on Sunday.

Competing in Open category, the quartet completed the 21.6-kilometre course along North Shore in a total time of 30min 18sec, almost two minutes ahead of nearest rivals Grant Goudge, Brian Steinhoff, Clifford Roberts and Alan Potts, who crossed the line in 31:59.1. The team of Wouter Aarts, Adam Hopkin, Richard Bruton and Jonah Jones completed the top three places, finishing in 32:31.8.

Cora Lee Starzomski, Ashley Couper, Rose-Anna Hoey and Maddie Durkin, who proved the fastest female team, finishing seventh overall in the Open category in 34:30. They were more than two minutes faster than their nearest rivals, Jennifer Lightbourne, Caroline Black, Sharon Hammond and Zoey Roberts, who clocked 36:51. Charlotte Parkinson, Nicky Hallet, Amber Mehta and Wenda Roberts were almost another two minutes slower, crossing the line in 38:38 to complete the podium places.

Moses Johnson, Cameron Morris and Jamie Bedford were the only junior team to compete on the longer course and crossed the line in 37:27.6 to finish in a highly respectable thirteenth place in the overall classification standings.

The event also included a shorter course of four kilometres with six teams competing overall. Jackson Langley, Ollie Hayward, Gordon Smith and Callum MacFarlane proved victorious in a winning time of 7:05, narrowly ahead of Jacob Wright, Tyler Coleman and Fenella Wright, who clocked 7:18. The team consisting of Makao Butterfield, Zachary Moniz and Jamie MacFarlane completed the top three places, crossing the line in 7:57.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 09, 2021 at 8:03 pm (Updated June 09, 2021 at 8:03 pm)

BJC Team Time-Trial recap

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon