Log In

Reset Password

Conor White clinches President’s Cup title to end in season in style

First Prev 1 2 Next Last
Thrilling finale: Conor White, centre, ended the road racing season in style with victory in the President’s Cup, ahead of Nicholas Narraway, right, and Alexander Miller (Photograph by Bermuda Bicycle Association)
Podium places: Caitlin Conyers, centre, was the winner of the Open Female Division, ahead of Liana Medeiros, right, and Jennifer Lightbourne (Photograph by Bermuda Bicycle Association)

Conor White ended the road racing season in style with a thrilling victory in the President’s Cup yesterday.

With great expectation for an exciting race, 35 riders took the start in Paget for the eighth edition of the round the island competition.

With all of Bermuda’s top road cyclists back on island and registered to race it was clearly going to be one of the better races in recent memory.

As the race unfolded, the expected leaders began showing that they are deserving of their accolades.

After some early action in the east end, a clear separation from the pack was established at Shark Hole by Tyler Smith, Conor White, Kaden Hopkins, Nic Narraway, Liam Flannery, Alexander Miller, Caitlin Conyers and defending champion Dominique Mayho.

The pre-race favourites then began trading attacks with Flannery, Smith and Narraway making a strong move on South Road in Warwick and then holding an advantage over the others all the way to Watford Bridge in Sandys.

Though dropped from the leaders by Port Royal Golf Course, Conyers eventually teamed up with a chasing Steve Smith for the remainder of the 55 mile race.

Up front, as the race turned in Dockyard to head back to the finish line in Paget, Narraway attacked by St James Church in Somerset, getting a good gap on the rest.

White was the first to respond and eventually made contact with Narraway and the two then began the hard work of holding off the chasers as a unit while preparing for a dramatic finish.

Narraway led on to Harbour Road but White was able to turn his power into a winning effort which brought him across the line first and earning the coveted trophy. Chasing behind, Miller finished in third, with the same time as Hopkins and Mayho and Flannery was 15 seconds behind, having experienced a mechanical problem at the very last stages of the race. Teenager Liana Medeiros was the second women on the podium and followed by Jennifer Lightbourne.

That concludes an extended 2021 road racing calendar for the BBA which has persisted despite the numerous scheduling difficulties created by the pandemic.

Looking ahead to next year, the elite men are planning to participate in the Vuelta Indpendencia Dominicana in late February to further their racing as a national team.

With the inaugural Caribbean Games and Commonwealth Games in the calendar for some and many of this top group racing with overseas teams in 2022, it should prove to be another exciting year of road racing for Bermuda’s cyclists.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published December 20, 2021 at 9:21 am (Updated December 20, 2021 at 9:21 am)

Conor White clinches President’s Cup title to end in season in style

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon