Government announces 2020 scholarships – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Government announces 2020 scholarships

First Prev 1 2 Next Last

The Ministry of Education has announced the winners of this year's government scholarships and awards.

The grants go to Bermudian students in higher education — with a new award, the Bermuda College Promise Programme, created last year for pupils who have just left public schools.

A total of 70 students have benefited from free tuition at Bermuda College for students with a 3.0 GPA.

Diallo Rabain, the education minister, said education remained “a top priority”.

He added: “These awards and scholarships are intended to demonstrate the Government's commitment to Bermudian students' abilities to further their education at Bermuda College or at overseas institutions.

“Our students and their ability to pursue postsecondary education is an integral part of the continued development and success of Bermuda.

“We recognise the importance of providing our people with opportunity and will make no apologies for doing so.”

Mr Rabain thanked the scholarships and awards committee and the Ministry and Department of Education officials who contributed to the scholarship and award season.

The full listing of awards was:

The Bermuda Government Scholarship for graduating senior school pupils or current college or university students — aged 16 to 25 — for postsecondary education. The scholarship pays up to $35,000 towards the cost of tuition and accommodation. This year's recipients were:

1, Kairo Morton attended Somersfield Academy and is a 2020 graduate from George School.

He is studying for a degree in computer science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

2, Anna Francoeur, a 2020 graduate of Warwick Academy, is studying for a degree in liberal arts at the University of Florida.

The Teacher Education Scholarship for college or university students with sophomore standing for study of selected subjects and/or areas of teaching need in the public school system.

Must demonstrate financial need. Scholarship value is up to $20,000 and this year's recipients were:

1, Sierra Reid, a Berkeley Institute and Bermuda College graduate, studying at American International College pursuing a master's degree and teacher certification in moderate disability initial licence PK-8.

2, Chianti Roberts, also a Berkeley Institute graduate, attended Bermuda College.

She is returning to the University of East London to pursue a degree and teacher certification in special education.

The Non-Traditional Student Award for the mature — aged 25 and over — college or university students pursuing postsecondary study.

The award value is up to $20,000.

The 2020 recipients were:

1, Alexis Stovell, a graduate of Bermuda High School studying at Arizona State University pursuing a BA degree in mass communication and media studies.

2, Trikeita Outerbridge, a graduate of Bermuda College with an associate's degree in arts and studies, is pursuing a bachelor's degree in digital news and media at the University of Buckingham.

3, Corynne Edwards is a 2018 graduate of the Bermuda College nursing programme in 2018. She is studying at City University of London for a BSc in midwifery.

The Minister's Achievement Scholarship for public school pupils for overseas postsecondary study. There was a total of 48 applicants.

The scholarship value is up to $25,000 and was awarded to Jaiden Furbert-Jacobs, a graduate of the Berkeley Institute and the Bermuda College dual enrolment programme.

He is pursuing a degree in actuarial science at Penn State University.

The Minister's Exceptional Student Award for graduating students or school leavers with disabilities for on-island or overseas postsecondary study is valued at up to $25,000 for overseas study and up to $5,000 for study at Bermuda College.

The recipient of the $25,000 overseas award was Jah-nai Smith, a graduate of the Berkeley Institute who is pursuing a BSc Psychology at Winthrop University in South Carolina.

The Minister's Applied Science Scholarship is designed for public senior school pupils graduating from the applied technology dual enrolment diploma programme at Bermuda College and who plan to continue their education there.

Jacari Renfroe, a Berkeley Institute graduate and of Bermuda College through the dual enrolment programme, is the recipient of the scholarship.

Jacari is continuing at the Bermuda College pursuing a certificate in motor vehicle technology.

The Minister's Technical and Vocational Award for graduating public school pupils or recent public school graduates aged 25 or under attending Bermuda College or overseas postsecondary study, is valued at up to $25,000 for overseas study.

The recipient was DesRon deShield-Burchall, a graduate of the Berkeley Institute.

He is studying for a bachelor's degree in software engineering at New England Institute of Technology.

The Minister's Bermuda College Book Award is for Bermuda College students to purchase books.

These are one-time awards for students enrolled in degree programmes at Bermuda College. The award value is $500.

Up to six students will receive Bermuda College book awards for this academic year.

The Further Education Award is for college or university students with sophomore standing for continued postsecondary study who must demonstrate financial need.

The award value is up to $10,000 and this year there were a total of 55 awards:

Tae-Eja Bean, Sherwin Burgess, Tia Burrows, Jayla Burt.

Keshun Butterfield, Ember Butterfield, Asante Chapman, Mercedes Correia, Brianna Correia, McKenzie Costa, Tahj Cox.

Dawson-Samuel Dates, Shatonae DeSilva, Di'Neasha DeSilva, Crystal Dill, Stefan Dill, Zorie Eve, Taznae Fubler.

Atiya Furqan, Yanni Gibbons, Dazhja Greaves, Chayah Guishard, Paul Harney, Precious Hayward, Chantae Hollis, Deonae Jones, Keizhari Knight.

Dantae Leverock, Victoria Lindsay, Jacy Lowery, Kyrie Parfitt, Solomon Pearman, Ajai Peets, Sacara Phillips, Staesha Pitcher, Paige Raynor, KaRi Richards, Davondra Sealy.

Seth Samuels, Damion Simmons, Gloria Simmons, Ackah-Simons Simons, Dawayne Smith, Jawonday Smith, Naphisa Smith.

Selaah Stephenson, Veronica Swan-Degraff, Vernicka Symonds, Seon Tatem, Jessie Thomas, Gregory Trott, Shani Tucker, Tierrai Tull, and Takiesha Wales.

Kairo Morton, one of the recipients of this year's Bermuda Government Scholarships (Photograph supplied)
Anna Francoeur, one of the recipients of this year's Bermuda Government Scholarships (Photograph supplied)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published October 03, 2020 at 9:00 am (Updated October 03, 2020 at 9:09 am)

Government announces 2020 scholarships

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon