Log In

Reset Password

Parsons and Washington narrowly miss out on Carifta standard

Za'Kayza Parsons, came close to reaching the Carifta Games qualifying mark in the 200 metres during Saturday's trial meet (File photograph by Lawrence Trott)

No athletes reached qualifying standards during the Bermuda National Athletics Association’s second Carifta trial meet at the National Sports Stadium on Saturday but Za’Kayza Parsons and Zenji Washington came close.

Parsons, came within two seconds of the qualifying time of 24.88secs for the under-20 200 metres when she clocked a winning time of 26.79 seconds. Nhoaa Powell finished second in 27.35 with Massassi Maxwell-Smith third in 28.34.

Washington went even closer in the under-17 200m when she clocked 26.56, though she just missed the qualifying standard of 26.00. Kemauri Darrell (28.10) and Jahstice Grant (28.41) finished second and third respectively.

Adriana Argent won the Under-17 800m in 2:29.01 but was eight seconds off the qualifying time of 2:21.00. Fenella Wightman was second in 2:32.46.

Shianne Smith, who represented Bermuda at the Commonwealth, Pan Am and the NatWest Island Games as recently as 2019, clocked a time of 2:25.55 to win the 800m open race.

Twins Kisaye and Kesay Bell, 16, won the under-17 discus and javelin events, though fell short of the qualifying standard.

Kisaye had a throw of 27.77m in the discus with the qualifying mark at 32.4m, while Kesay threw 29.66 in the javelin where the qualifying mark is 36m.

In the boys, Jayson Simons won the under-17 200m in 23.91 with the qualifying time being 22.52.

Anaya West was second in 23.97 and Denver Tucker third in 24.32.

In the under-17 800m, Simeon Hayward was almost seven seconds outside the qualifying time of 2:03 when he clocked a winning time of 2:09.50.

Nirobi Smith-Mills, who won a gold medal in the under-17 800m at the 2019 Games, was four seconds outside the qualifying mark of 1:55.50 in the under-20 800m, when he clocked a winning time of 1:59.96 to finish ahead of Jaiden Furbert-Jacobs (2:04.78) and Kahzi Sealey (2:06.44).

In the under-20 5,000m race, Iziah Tucker won in 17:15.46 while Nick Pilgrim was second in 18:52.10. The qualifying time for Carifta is 17 minutes flat.

Veteran runners Chris Estwanik and Dage Minors battled it out in the 5,000m open race, with Estwanik prevailing in a winning time of 14:46.89 while Minors finished eight seconds behind in 14:55.05.

For full results, see Related Media

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published February 22, 2021 at 8:00 am (Updated February 22, 2021 at 11:38 am)

Parsons and Washington narrowly miss out on Carifta standard

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon