Log In

Reset Password

Students nominated for Denton Hurdle Memorial Awards

Professional footballer LeiLanni Nesbeth won the Denton Hurdle Memorial Award in 2015 (Photos by Blaire Simmons)

The 38th annual Denton Hurdle Memorial Awards will take place tonight at Warwick Academy.

The awards honour Hurdle, who was a keen sportsman who attended Warwick Academy, Bermuda College and Dalhousie University. After completing his physical education degree he went on to teach at Warwick Academy.

An avid sportsman and excelled in football, cricket and volleyball, but his first love was rugby. He captained Teachers Rugby Football Club and was also a member of the national team.

More than 53 children have been nominated this year after each school was asked to nominate one boy and one girl for the award. All nominees will receive a certificate of recognition and are expected to attend the event.

To be nominated for the award, students must display active participation, leadership, sportsmanship, self-discipline, dedication and co-operation. They must demonstrate positive attitudes in school and should be good scholars and role models.

Only students in the final year of primary, middle or senior school are eligible to enter.

Judging is based the following criteria listed in order of importance. Contribution towards school sports programme (including attitude); Contribution towards other school programmes; Participation in sports outside of school (national level as well as club level); participation in other community activities.

The judges will also evaluate written letters submitted by each school.


Primary School girls

Cush Belboda – Purvis Primary

Ariana Berkeley – Paget Primary

Maiya Caisey – Harrington Sound Primary

Romy Drea – Francis Patton School

Evelyn Fahy – Somersfield Academy

Peyton-Reese Govia – Mount Saint Agnes Academy

Samiyah Hall – Gilbert Institute

Piper Howard – Bermuda High School

Zanna Jones – St. David’s Primary

Naomi MacGuinness – Warwick Academy

Cataleya McCallan – West Pembroke Primary

Sophia Odouri – Northlands Primary

Emya Phipps – St. George’s Preparatory

Solae Rivas – Saltus Grammar School

Kayuni Simmons – Port Royal Primary

Maliah Steede – Prospect Primary

Alessia Vianello – Somerse Primary

Primary School boys

Hugo Adams – Somersfield Academy

Cree Bean – Warwick Academy

Damany Burchall – Dalton E. Tucker Primary

Cyme Dowling – Francis Patton School

Royal Fubler-Tucker – Saltus Grammar School

Luka Pastor – Mount Saint Agnes Academy

Kenzo Pitcher- Wade – St. David’s Primary

Harlo Robinson – St. George’s Preparatory

Kingston Ratteray – Purvis Primary

Tristyn Saltus – Gilbert Institute

Jemani Scott – West End Primary

Kosey Simmons – Northlands Primary

Shiloh Stevens – Prospect Primary

Ajani Trott – Paget Primary

Antoine Whitter – Elliot Primary

Middle School girls

Antoinette Barry – Warwick Academy

Gabriella Cechini – Somersfield Academy

Milan Gibbons-Thomas – Bermuda High School

Leilani Peters – Saltus Grammar School

T’Mia Williams – Mount Saint Agnes Academy

Middle School boys

Seruno Basden – The Whitney Institute Middle School

Joseph Cechini – Somersfield Academy

Timothy Jackson – Dellwood Middle School

Zydon Lightbourne Furbert – Warwick Academy

Liam Sheehy – Saltus Grammar School

Quincy Ratteray – Mount Saint Agnes Academy

Senior School girls

Adriana Argent – Warwick Academy

Katherine Bean Rosario – Saltus Grammar School

Dominique Brown – CedarBridge Academy

Satya Darrell – Somersfield Academy

Chiaje Rudo – The Berkeley Institute

Senior School boys

Matthew Banner – Warwick Academy

Seer Carey – The Berkeley Institute

Anijahe Santos Martin – Mount Saint Agnes Academy

Enrique Mendes – Somersfield Academy

Brandon Sangster – Saltus Grammar School

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 20, 2024 at 7:59 am (Updated June 20, 2024 at 7:46 am)

Students nominated for Denton Hurdle Memorial Awards

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon