Taylor claims top honours in Bacardi Par 3 – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Taylor claims top honours in Bacardi Par 3

Canada's Nick Taylor stepped to the forefront to win the Bacardi National Par 3 championships held at the Southampton Princess golf course over the weekend.

Former world amateur number one, Taylor, entered yesterday level with defending champion Daniel Augustus and Dwayne Pearman after the trio entered the second day of play one over (55).

Taylor, however, put his foot on the accelerator and ended the day three over, two strokes ahead of runner up Scott Roy to claim the top prize of $2,000.

Pearman went out with the early pack as he was scheduled to catch a flight overseas in the afternoon.

The 22-year-old than stepped his game up to shoot a second round 57 to cement his name at the top of leaderboard at the end of the day. Chris Smith claimed third after he shot six over, while Augustus had a day to forget, finishing fourth

Being in the final group to tee off with Augustus and Brian Morris, who was one shot back heading into the final day, Taylor knew exactly what had to be done to claim the win.

The title will be added to an already long-list of accolades that includes the Ben Hogan award that recognises the Outstanding Male Amateur and Collegiate Golfer of the Year, 2007 Canadian Amateur Championship, as well as a second in the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

In the Ladies' Amateur Gross Division, Ebonie Burgess won with an overall total of 15 over, although second place Janina Jacobs was tied with Burgess but also had to make a flight at the airport.

Melinda Frith rounded out the top three when she shot a 23 over par for the two days.

Local veteran Nick Mansell beat out David Charles, although the pair shot identical scores. In the event of matching scorecards the victory is given to the player with the best score over the last nine holes.

In third place, at 14-over par overall, was Quinton Sherlock Sr.

Stephen Phieffer and Shirley Brown won the Men's and Ladies' Open Net titles, respectively.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published March 28, 2011 at 2:00 am (Updated March 28, 2011 at 9:45 am)

Taylor claims top honours in Bacardi Par 3

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon