Log In

Reset Password

Kenneth Matthie secures another win in motocross series

Going hard: King-Zyahn Browne leads Jacob Raynor during the Peewee 50 class race at the Bermuda Motocross Club St. John Ambulance Appreciation Race Day on Sunday at St David’s (Photograph by Akil Simmons)

Kenneth Matthie was in fine form at Sunday's Bermuda Motocross Club event in St David's after coming out on top in the Experts Class to secure yet another victory this season.

The rider said he is looking to continue his good form and lift the excitement around the sport.

“The goal is to always win. So far I have won two of three trophies and I’m on course for the treble. The Expert Championship is next and it would be huge to win,” Matthie said after his victory.

“I want to continue on bringing excitement to the sport,” he added.

Matthie, who also won here at the last event on January 2, got the better of Allan Degraffe and Zamair Darrell, who completed the podium spots. The second place finish was an improvement for Degraffe, who was third last time out.

It was another telling victory for Matthie, who has impressed all season.

Fourth place finisher Preston Martin and Aaron Cannonier rounded out the top five in the marquee event.

In the novice category, Zano Tucker took top honours over 85cc winner Jazuri Easton-Thompson, who won in this class at the previous event, while Bryan Correia finished in third place.

Janeko Place crossed in fourth place, just ahead of Daquan Burgess.

Letroy Trott could not repeat his success from a couple weeks ago in the Over 30s Class, after he had to settle for third place behind winner Shaki Easton and second place finisher Ben Zoeliner. Ronald Trott finished fourth while fifth place went to Wentworth Tucker.

The Peewee 50 class went to Kodi Paul who got the better of Jacob Raynor and King Clarke, with Max Butterfield and Jason Amaro Jr rounding out the top five.

A'Jahni Foggo had a busy afternoon, taking first place in the 50cc class and second place in the 65cc category.

In the 50cc, Foggo finished ahead of Azai Burt with Kodi Paul taking third. Mathias Bean was fourth while Tinho Tucker Wall had to settle for fifth place.

In the 65cc class, it was Aiden Simmons who walked away with bragging rights after getting the better of Foggo and third place finisher Grae Trott Edness, while Anyuri Persad and Z'nac Jones ran fourth and fifth respectively.

Easton-Thompson added to his second place finish in the novice class with a solid win in the 85cc class ahead of Simmons and Jahrikco Wall. Fourth place went to Jones, while Quadae Baker finished fifth.

The next event is scheduled to take place on January 30.

The BMC is celebrating 50 years of existence this year and president Arlene Simmons has outlined a number of key activities and objectives to mark the occasion.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published January 21, 2022 at 7:56 am (Updated January 21, 2022 at 7:49 am)

Kenneth Matthie secures another win in motocross series

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon