Log In

Reset Password
BERMUDA | RSS PODCAST

Here is a really neat and interesting play

A lot of travel this week so I will just bring you a really interesting declarer play hand, the sort that turns up often at the table — so study it well!

Dealer South, N/S Vul

NORTH(/b>

S J852

H 64

D A1062

C K43

EAST

S 3

H Q10932

D 743

C AQ102

SOUTH

S AK764

H AK87

D 5

C 876

WEST

S Q109

H J5

D KQJ98

C J95

South opened a spade and when North made a limit raise the 3 Spades he was happy enough to accept the invitation based on his great shape and two Ace-Kings.

West led the King of Diamonds. Declarer saw that if trumps were 2-2, ten tricks would be routine: five trumps, two Heart ruffs and the Ace of Diamonds.

Similarly, he would make ten tricks if he had a trump loser but the Ace of Clubs was onside.

So he turned his attention to what he could do if he had to lose a trump trick and the ace of clubs was offside.

After a little thought, he concluded he would have to make his own low trumps separately. Consequently, after winning the first trick with the ace of Diamonds, he ruffed a Diamond.

Declarer then cashed the Ace and King of trumps, discovering that West had a trump trick.

Continuing with his plan to make as many low trumps as possible, declarer took the Ace and King of Hearts and led the eight of Hearts.

As declarer would throw a Club from dummy and later ruff a Club if West ruffed in with the Queen of trumps,

West followed the normal good practice of discarding, this time a Diamond.

Declarer ruffed the heart in dummy then ruffed a second Diamond in hand.

When declarer next led the ten of Hearts, West discarded a low Club as he could not afford to throw his last Diamond, the Queen, for that would make dummy's ten of Diamonds a winner.

So declarer ruffed the Heart in dummy then ruffed dummy's last Diamond to make his contract.

Notice that, on the above layout, declarer would not have made his contract if he had failed to ruff a Diamond at trick two — it is one of those seemingly pointless plays but with a bit of planning declarer showed just how to make the contract.

A really neat play!

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published August 27, 2016 at 9:00 am (Updated August 27, 2016 at 2:23 am)

Here is a really neat and interesting play

What you
Need to
Know
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon