Lightbourne red card rescinded
Kyle Lightbourne?s unblemished disciplinary record in local football remained intact yesterday after referee Leroy Wilson rescinded the red card he issued to the former English professional striker during last week?s Premier Division clash between PHC Zebras and Devonshire Cougars at the Den.
The Zebras? player-coach received a straight red card ? his first at the domestic club level ? for a handball referee Leroy Wilson interpreted as being deliberate, and was immediately sent heading for an early shower.
Lightbourne pleaded his case with BFA referee chairman Lee Holder, who witnessed the second-half incident, and later submitted a written appeal. But upon further review ref Wilson revoked Lightbourne?s red card before the player?s submitted appeal could be heard by a BFA appeals panel. ?In regards to the red card issued to Kyle Lightbourne, the referee (Leroy Wilson) has since reconsidered his decision and rescinded the red card,? BFA general secretary David Sabir confirmed.
?According to FIFA Laws of the game, a player can only be sent off if he denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by deliberately handing the ball.?
Sabir then reminded all local football referees that under normal circumstances deliberate handballs are penalised by a direct free kick or a penalty kick if the offence occurs anywhere inside the penalty box.
Lightbourne is now eligible to play in Zebras? crunch league encounter with nearby rivals Paget at Southampton Oval on Sunday in a match that could have a strong bearing on the relegation battle.
Paget currently trail sixth-placed Zebras by three-points with three matches remaining in the 2006-07 schedule.
?The referee has recognised his decision was wrong and has rescinded the card. The matter is now finished and hopefully everyone learned something from it. Now we can all move forward,? Lightbourne said.
Holder, meanwhile, said the referee was within his right to rescind the red card.
?The referee reviewed his action in respect to the law and the interpretation of the law,? he said.
?And he is entitled to do that in matters where he has erred in law. And so we (BFA) did not have to go through any process.?