Log In

Reset Password

Students to be recognised at awards ceremony

The Bermuda School Sports Federation will host the 28th annual Denton Hurdle awards today at the Phoebe Purvis Memorial Hall at Warwick Academy, starting at 7pm.

The awards, honouring the late Denton Hurdle, are used to highlight, recognise and reward the finest primary, middle and senior school student-athletes.

Hurdle was a keen sportsman who attended Warwick Academy, Bermuda College and Dalhousie University. After completing his physical education degree he went on to teach at Warwick Academy.

He was an avid sportsman and excelled in football, cricket and volleyball. His first love, however, was rugby. He went on to captain Teachers Rugby Football Club. He was also a regular member of the Bermuda national team.

Each school is asked to nominate one boy and one girl for the award. All nominees will receive a certificate of recognition and are expected to attend the event.

To be nominated for the award, students must display the following qualities: active participation, leadership, sportsmanship, self-discipline, dedication and cooperation. They must demonstrate positive attitudes in school. Nominees should also be good scholar-athletes as well as good role models. Only students in the final year of primary, middle or senior school are eligible for this reward.

The 2013 nominees are:Makeda Burrows — West End Primary; Imani Phillips — Somerset Primary; Jasmine Simons — Heron Bay Primary; Kayode George — Purvis Primary; Macy Sidders — Bermuda High School; Kiandra Burgess — Paget Primary; Shabrique Henderson — Gilbert Institute; Destani Warner — West Pembroke Primary; Kazaya Sealey — Elliot Primary; Druw Bascome — St. David’s Primary; Jessie Marshall — Saltus Grammar School; Holly Bruton — Warwick Academy; Angelae Heath — Harrington Sound Primary; Kayla Raymond — St. George’s Preparatory; Kanzi Emery — Francis Patton Primary; Makayla Tucker — Somersfield Academy



Zion Thompson — Dalton E. Tucker Primary; Zaire Williams — Heron Bay Primary; Okari Williams — Port Royal Primary; Samuel Darrell — Purvis Primary; Jhazii Johnson — Prospect Primary; Nejai Tucker — Victor Scott Primary; Tyrese Caines — Warwick Academy; Z’Dao Dill — Elliot Primary; Zekiah Smith — Gilbert Institute.

Yusef Bushara — Somersfield Academy; Jai Pitt — West Pembroke Primary; Zakiyah Lee — Northlands Primary; Ricky Mallory — Mount Saint Agnes Academy; Kevin Sunga — St. George’s Preparatory; Ryan Mullen — Saltus Grammar School; Robert Thomas — Harrington Sound Primary; Ryan Outerbridge — St. David’s Primary.


Ember Butterfield — Sandys Secondary Middle School; Micah Pond — T.N. Tatem Middle School; Paige Bruton — Warwick Academy; Chanara Smith-Rookes — Clearwater Middle School; Victoria Davis — Saltus Grammar School; Quinnae Outerbridge — Bermuda High School; Leah Smith — Somersfield Academy.


Ahria Simons — T.N.Tatem Middle School; Dylan Powell — Saltus Grammar School; Matteo Turner — Dellwood Middle School; Samuel McKittrick — Warwick Academy; Aaron Burgess — Clearwater Middle School.


Kirstin Saltus — Warwick Academy; Latonia Fray — Saltus Grammar School; Shuntae Hendrickson — CedarBridge Academy; Rachel Fox — Mount Saint Agnes Academy; Kayjuna Lema — Berkeley Institute.

SENIOR BOYSKyle Webb — The Berkeley Institute; Chas Smith — Warwick Academy; Mark Godfrey — Saltus Grammar School; Chae Brangman — CedarBridge Academy.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 14, 2013 at 9:00 am (Updated June 13, 2013 at 9:12 pm)

Students to be recognised at awards ceremony

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon