Log In

Reset Password

Beach Bums claim B Division

Beach Bums lifted the Softball B Division title with an emphatic 11-1 victory over Raggamuffins.

Little did the Beach know that the two runs they scored in the first would be enough for them to win.

The Beach took advantage of several errors as they only had 12 hits, but the biggest was Ed Desilva’s three-run blast in the bottom of the fourth.

Pitcher Chris Montgomery helped his cause by going 2-4, and Donald Folkard (2-4) was the only other Beach player with more than one hit.

Raggamuffins lone run came off a Jared Whitecross (2-3) homer in the bottom of the fifth. Steve Wallace (3-3) led the team in hits.

In the postseason tournament, Paraquet Flyers unleashed their bats in an unheard-of 40-hit attack Blue Wahoos.

The 38-15 win saw Paraquet score at least three runs in every inning, capping it off with a 10-run seventh.

Steve Simons (5-6) uncoiled his bat for three homers and nine RBI to lead the Flyers.

But there were plenty of batting stars as Josh Strang (5-7), Graham Frith (5-6), Matthew Fullerton (6-7), Andrew Simpson (5-7), and Matthew Hayward (5-5) all had at least five hits. Brent MacGilray was 4-4 to lead Wahoos, while team-mates Robbie Bailey (4-5), and Nikki Palle (3-4) also had nice turns at the plate.

Buffaloes defeated the PHX Zebras team 16-3.

The victors had a nine-run fifth inning to salt this one away. Spencer Phillips (4-4) and Chris Finsinet (3-3) had perfect nights at the dish with Phillips driving home four runs.

Zebras scored all their runs in the first and then were blanked the rest of the way. Team captain Tawana Fox (2-2) had two of the team’s three RBIs and the only player with two hits.

After wrapping up the A-League title last week, Docksiders started the postseason tournament with a 14-12 triumph over Platano Power.

Plantano were up 10-6 after four innings forcing Dockies to come behind to pick up the victory.

Mike Sakata (3-4) led the way with two homers and four RBI while Richard Madeiros (2-4) also homered and added three RBI.

Guest player Danny Cook was 3-3. Joelvis Rodriguez, Albert Acevedo, and Stalin Lopez were all 3-4 with Acevedo hammering two homers for six RBI in the loss.

The postseason tournament continues this week with games at 8pm and 8.30pm from today through Thursday at the Michael Preece Softball Diamond at Bernard Park.