Log In

Reset Password

Ace’s Greenberg named Insurance Leader of the Year by St John’s SRM

Ace chairman and CEO Evan Greenberg has been named 2011 Insurance Leader of the Year by the St John’s University’s School of Risk Management (SRM).

The awards dinner will be held on January 18, 2012, at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. Proceeds from the dinner will support the University’s SRM students and programmes.

“I am especially pleased that we recognise my good friend and long term associate, Evan Greenberg,” said Brian Duperreault, president and chief executive officer of Marsh & McLennan Companies and chairman of the SRM Board of Overseers. Former Ace CEO Mr Duperreault was one of Mr Greenberg’s mentors.

“Evan is acknowledged as one of the most effective CEOs in our business. His track record of performance and stockholder returns is second to none. In addition, he is also one of the most influential executives in Asian affairs, particularly US-China relations. For these and his many other contributions to our industry, he is a most worthy recipient of the Insurance Leader of the Year Award.”

Brandon Sweitzer, Dean of the SRM, also had high praise for this year’s honoree.

“For many years, Evan Greenberg has been a determined force in the risk industry, skilfully guiding one of its finest franchises,” commented Mr Sweitzer. “The School’s students would do well to look closely at Evan’s unswerving focus on good business fundamentals as they prepare for future leadership roles in the insurance and reinsurance arena. His colleagues and competitors alike respect his knowledge of, and solid grip upon, what it takes to succeed in a crucially important segment of the world’s economy. Our congratulations go out to him.”

The Award Selection Committee is chaired by Joseph Mauriello, retired deputy chairman and COO of KPMG, and includes George Bernstein of The Bernstein Law Firm, (Washington, DC); Robert Hartwig, PhD, President of the Insurance Information Institute; Michael Morrissey, president and CEO of the International Insurance Society; Ellen Thrower, PhD, professor of Risk Management and Retired executive director of SRM; and Peter Walker, director of McKinsey & Company (New York).

The “Insurance Leader of the Year Award,” presented annually since 1995, recognises the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers. Last year’s recipient was Joseph Taranto, chairman and CEO of Bermuda-based Everest Re.

Ace CEO Evan Greenberg

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published September 23, 2011 at 2:00 am (Updated September 23, 2011 at 9:30 am)

Ace’s Greenberg named Insurance Leader of the Year by St John’s SRM

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon