Log In

Reset Password

Marco Warren and Ian Coke among top contenders for end of season awards

First Prev 1 2 3 4 Next Last
Marco Warren: The PHC captain and midfielder has been a shining light this season for his club and is in the running for the season’s MVP award. (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

The season’s most valuable players in the Premier and First Division will come from the top three teams in the two divisions, according to the nomination process ahead of the end of season awards ceremony which will take place on the steps of City Hall at 7.30pm.

Dandy Town, the league and FA Cup champions, have Azende Furbert as their nominee in a shortlist of three which also includes Marco Warren, the PHC captain, and Domico Coddington of Devonshire Cougars, who finished third in the league and won the Friendship Trophy.

The shortlist for the MVP in the First Division is also down to players from the top three clubs, Macquille Walker and Ian Coke whose goals helped guide Hamilton Parish and Boulevard, respectively, to promotion, and Jonas Schroder who helped BAA finish third in the standings.

Ian Coke, the Boulevard captain, centre, is one of the nominees for First Division MVP after guiding his team to promotion this season (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Che’Kai Caisey of Devonshire Cougars, Nzari Paynter of St George’s and Nizigh Spence of Dandy Town are the three nominees for young player of the year in the Premier Division. In the First Division, Samuel McKittrick (Hamilton Parish), Tre Burgess (BAA), Azir Harvey (Boulevard) and Jelani Simmons (Paget) are the four contenders.

The top goal scorers for the season in the league will also be recognised, with PHC, having the three top scorers in Antwan Russell, Marco Warren and Enrique Russell. In the First Division the top scorers were Jordan Outerbridge, Walker of Parish and Ian Coke of Boulevard.

Macquille Walker of Hamilton Parish is in line for two awards in the First Division after leading his club to promotion as champions (Photograph by Lawrence Trott)

The top contenders for goalkeeper of the year are Detre Bell of North Village, Freddy Hall, of St George’s and Jaiden Manders, of Dandy Town. In the First Division the three contenders are Andrew Lee of, BAA, Shaquille Bean of, Ireland Rangers and Azir Harvey of, Boulevard.

Hall sadly lost his life in an traffic accident on April 24, after already completing an outstanding season with the east end club.

Freddy Hall has been nominated for Goalkeeper of the Year in the Premier Division after an outstanding season. Sadly, the St George’s captain passed away in a traffic accident on April 24. (File photograph by Lawrence Trott)

Defensive player of the year nominees are Zeko White (Devonshire Cougars), Michael Lambe (PHC) and Terrence Webb of Dandy Town, with Antoine Famous (Boulevard), Quinn Outerbridge (Hamilton Parish) and Jonas Schroder (BAA) the First Division contenders for defensive player of the year.

Aaron Denkins and Winston Trott will be the main contenders for coach of the year, after good seasons with Town and PHC respectively, while Kwame Steede, who led Cougars to a trophy and a third-place finish, is the other nominee.

Shortlisted for award in the First Division are Troy Smith, of Boulevard, Andrew Bascome, of BAA and Sergio Goater, of Hamilton Parish.

The nomination process for the above awards was conducted recently in two phases. During the first phase, club coaches were required to nominate individuals only from their team.

Once all nominations were received from the clubs, the completed list of nominations was sent to the clubs for the second phase of voting. During that second phase, club coaches are required to select their choices from the list of nominations.

During this second phase, the coaches cannot select a player from his team. Coaches must also rank the top three players of their choice in each category.

The top-ranked nominee received five points, second ranked nominee received three points and the third ranked nominee one point. The award is presented to the player or coach who receives the most points.

A fair play team award will also be presented, to the team in the Premier and First Division that accumulated the least amount of penalty points from yellow and red cards received in league matches only.

In the running for that award are PHC, Robin Hood and Somerset Eagles in the Premier Division and Wolves, St David’s and Paget in the First Division.

Referees will also be recognised at the awards ceremony, with the nominees for the youth referee of the year, young referee of the year, and referee of the year awards chosen by the selection panel based on the following criteria: attendance to training, application of the laws of the game during matches and performance on courses with local and Fifa/Concacaf instructors, assessments and feedback from local and Fifa/Concacaf instructors and match commissioners.

Youth referee of the year nominees are, Sar Smith, Shavon Nisbett and Zuri Swan, while the young referee nominees include, Amaury Majors, Satia Burchall and Mateo Donawa. those nominated for referee of the year are Natasha Trott, Dwight Jackson and Clinton Hayward.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published May 05, 2022 at 7:25 am (Updated May 05, 2022 at 7:23 am)

Marco Warren and Ian Coke among top contenders for end of season awards

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon