Log In

Reset Password

Bermuda placed in League B for Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship

Past glory: Bermuda created a sensation by winning the Concacaf Under-15 Girls' Championship second division title in 2018 (File photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Bermuda have been placed in League B for the upcoming Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship.

The developmental tournament, which will feature 31 Concacaf member associations, as well as one invited guest nation, is scheduled to take place at the Hillsborough County Tournament Sportsplex in Tampa, Florida, from July 31 to August 7.

“We are thrilled to once again be hosting this exciting competition, especially at such an important time for women’s football in our region with the Concacaf W Qualifiers earlier this year and the upcoming W Championship in July,” said Philippe Moggio, Concacaf general secretary.

“Our Under-15 Girls Championship will provide hundreds of girls from across North America, Central America and the Caribbean with an opportunity to compete and experience all aspects of a top-level Concacaf competition.”

To ensure sporting balance and fully leverage development opportunity for all young players, the 32 participating teams will be divided into three leagues according to their Concacaf Women’s Under-17 ranking as of May this year.

As a result, the seven highest-ranked nations, Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, United States, and the guest nation have been placed in League A.

The next 12 highest-ranked nations including Bermuda, as well as Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guyana, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, St Kitts & Nevis and Trinidad & Tobago make up League B, while Anguilla, Aruba, Belize, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Martinique, St Lucia, St Martin, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Turks & Caicos Islands, and US Virgin Islands will compete in League C.

Within each league, the participating teams will be divided into groups of four teams each. After round-robin play, the two group winners and second-place finishers of League A will advance to the knockout stage and compete for the championship.

For leagues B and C, the three group winners and the best second-place finisher will advance to the semi-finals of their respective league. The remaining teams in each league will play in an additional match for final position in the competition.

The knockout stage of each league will be in a single-match, direct-elimination format, beginning with the semi-finals, followed by a final and third-place match.

With this format, each league will crown a champion and guarantee that every participating team plays a minimum of four competitive matches.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 09, 2022 at 7:58 am (Updated June 09, 2022 at 2:50 am)

Bermuda placed in League B for Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon