Log In

Reset Password

Marco Warren claims top award for third time in five seasons

First Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last
Marco Warren awarded the BFA MVP for the third time in five seasons (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Marco Warren tightened his grip on the Premier Division’s prestigious most valuable player award during the Bermuda Football Association’s Award Ceremony at the Earl Cameron Theatre at City Hall on Saturday night.

The influential PHC Zebras captain was a clear favourite to pick up the award for the second straight year, and third overall, having been the driving force behind his team’s League and Friendship Trophy success during the 2022-23 season.

“It’s definitely an honour for sure,” Warren said. “I am glad to reap the rewards from all the hard work that I put in and all the guys that have helped me come this far.

“It feels really good and I am happy to receive this award in front of my family members and my friends.”

Warren managed to lead his team to multiple titles despite having to deal with adversity.

“I have been battling a lot of different things this season from injuries, to health state to having a new boy,” he said.

“I just made sure I stuck to my militant routine and I’ve got the people around me to help me and understand what I am and what I do.

“I played a little bit of a different position unpopular to most, but I was still able to make do because I have strong sense of where I need to be to help my team.”

PHC dominated the top-flight awards with Jaylon Bather voted the defensive player of the year for a fourth time and Winston Trott Jr named coach of the year for the first time.

Winston Trott Jr Premier Division coach of the year (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

“It feels pretty good. We had a good season so this was the icing on the top to get this award,” Trott said.

“It’s cool to get individual awards but the team is what basically makes it all happen. So hats off to my team and I am really proud of them for what they achieved this year.”

Jaylon Bather Premier Division defensive player of the year (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Bather was elated to have received the award again.

“This is my fourth defensive player of the year award and it’s always an honour getting it” he said.

“I don’t expect it, but I do try to put my best foot forward for my team and try to help them do as best as they can, and this season we ended up getting two trophies.

“I can’t take all the credit for this trophy because I had a strong team around me. I have to give my team a lot of compliments on the season, the coaching staff and even the fans.”

Blaiz Hall Premier Division young player of the year (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

St George’s Colts Blaiz Hall also had cause to celebrate after being voted the Premier Division’s young player of the year.

“I am very excited to win this award,” he said. “I am delighted to win young player of the year and looking forward to next season.”

North Village’s Detre Bell was voted as the Premier Division’s goalkeeper of the year, with the award accepted by coach Kenny Thompson in Bell’s absence.

Donavan Thompson Premier Division leading goal scorer (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

X-Roads Warriors striker Donavan Thompson was the Premier Division’s leading scorer with 18 goals and there was some consolation for Robin Hood, who finished bottom of the league, after they won the fair play award.

It was also a big night for Paget Lions player-coach Antwan Russell who was voted as the First Division’s most valuable player.

“I didn’t expect to win MVP, it wasn’t even on mind,” Russell said. “I just wanted to do as best as I could to be honest, but to win it is a pleasure.”

Antwan Russell First Division MVP and leading goal scorer (Photograph by Blaire Simmons)

Russell, who led promoted Paget to the First Division league and Shield double in his debut season at the helm, was also the division’s leading goal scorer with 25 goals.

Paget dominated the First Division awards as Zaire Weller was voted the young player of the year and Julian Carpenter defensive player of the year.

One of the biggest surprises of the night came when Young Men’s Social Club’s Michael Smith was chosen as First Division coach of the year over Russell.

Social Club were also among the clubs receiving multiple honours as Kwensi Cann was voted the division’s goalkeeper of the year. The First Division’s fair play award was picked up by Somerset Eagles.

It was also a proud moment for Stefan Maybury who was voted as referee of the year.

Dominique Richardson, of Footy Queens, was named Women’s Most Valuable Player with Jya Ratteray-Smith of Somerset named young player of the year. PHC Women’s coach Robert Bean was named coach of the year

Josef Gooden, Kevin Anderson, Esten Curtis, John Doran and Cal Dill all received the BFA’s Order of Merit, while Kirk Douglas, Dwaine Richardson, Donnie Hill, the late Marischal Astwood and Garrett Dill were acknowledged as the BFA’s 2023 Legends who will have scholarships named in their honour.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published April 24, 2023 at 7:41 am (Updated April 24, 2023 at 7:41 am)

Marco Warren claims top award for third time in five seasons

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon