Log In

Reset Password

Marshall and Hoey cruise to open titles

Larry Marshall and Rose-Anna Hoey comfortably claimed the men's and women's open titles during Saturday's National Cross Country Championships at the Botanical Gardens.

Both Marshall and Hoey missed the final race of the cross-country series with Hoey having already wrapped up that title, and on the weekend both returned to winning ways after holding off challenges from the husband-and-wife pair of Jose Miranda and Tamika Miranda.

Marshall finished almost two minutes ahead of the only other competitor in the men's category, completing the 4.63 mile course in 28min 35.3sec, while Miranda was second in 30:26.3.

Hoey led home the women in the 3.73 mile race, winning in 26:59, with Tamika Miranda second in 30:07, and Rachael Rothwell third in 36:18.1.

Deon Breary won the women's masters category, clocking 26:56.9 over the 3.73 mile course, which was actually faster than Hoey's winning time. Kim Raymond was well behind in second place, in 36:43.7, while Leonie Dill was third in 42:34.2.

Chris Harris took the men's masters title over the same distance, winning in 19:27, while Omari Hart, the series champion, was second in 25:19.7 and Craig Rothwell 26:29.7.

Victoria Fiddick and Neil De ste Croix were comfortable winners in the senior masters category, with winning times of 28:15.1 and 26:35.4 respectively, over the 3.73 mile course.

Max De ste Croix won the under-17 race over 3.73 miles in a time of 24:08.2, while Robert Edwards was second in 25:00.7. Akim Johnston won the men's under-20 race over the same distance in 28:14.4, with Lawrence Fox second in 29:30.0.

Ashley Irby was the girls under-17 winner ahead of Lynsey Palmer in 27:47.6. Palmer clocked 29:19.1 to finish ahead of Messiah Greaves and Mikaela Outerbridge.

Iziah Tucker finished 50 seconds ahead of Ryan Outerbridge to take the under-14 title over 1.93 miles in 11:17.7.

Selah Tuzo was the girls winners in the same age group, finishing in 13:30.3, with Jessie Marshall second in 14:10.8, and Kayla Raymond third in 14:56.6

Jade Johnston and Sancho Smith won the girls and boys under-12s, Smith by just eight seconds over Kahzi Sealey in the closest finish of the day. Max Reid and Ramiah Brangman won the under-10 age groups.

Best of two: Marshall only had to beat one other runner to claim the national title at Botanical Gardens (File photograph by Blaire Simmons)

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published December 07, 2015 at 8:00 am (Updated December 07, 2015 at 12:49 am)

Marshall and Hoey cruise to open titles

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon