Log In

Reset Password

Student Government Association inducted

The young voices of CedarBridge Academy have spoken again. On Tuesday, December 1, CedarBridge Academy's Student Government Association had its annual induction ceremony for the newly elected officers for the 2015-2016 school year. This induction ceremony was held in the Ruth Seaton James Centre for the Performing Arts.

This year's election was no different and the process was no different either. Potential officers had to attend meetings and go through an application process. Applicants had to obtain recommendations from teachers and write a brief essay on how they would increase school spirit at CedarBridge Academy, and why they believe they will be the best fit for the role they are applying for.

A tradition that was newly revived in 2012, Student Government has given the students of CedarBridge Academy a chance for their voices to be heard loud and clear. During the advisory period, newly elected vice-president, Kevonté Jennings-Lathan, read the welcome followed by newly elected president of Student Government, Aminah Simmons, who gave the prayer and read the Student Affirmation. The invocation was given by Desire Simons to give some inspiring words to the new inductees. Bathsheba Jones then read the purpose of Student Government, followed by the official induction, led by Mrs Khandice Darrell, Student Government advisor.

CedarBridge Academy's Student Government now comprises 11 officers: Aminah Simmons — president, Kevonté Jennings-Lathan – vice-president, Israel Bennett – treasurer, Kylah Hunt – financial secretary, Esmeralda Zanders – secretary, Jonathan Simons – historian, Jordyn Ming & Bathsheba Jones – parliamentarians, Kyle Croke & Jayla Burt – publicists and Ore Bademosi – reporter.

Eleven class representatives were also inducted: S1 Representative – Desire Simmons, S2 Class president – Saige Ming, S2 representatives – Sequay Darrel, Lysmeiri Santana-Herrera and Jonathan Simons. S3 president – Israel Bennett. S4 president – Jordyn Ming and S4 Class representatives – Ore Bademosi, Dascha Choudhury, Bathsheba Jones and Esmeralda Zanders.

Remarks were given by deputy principal Rosemary Matthews, and closing remarks by president Aminah Simmons and vice-president, Kevonté Jennings-Lathan.

Let the young voices of CedarBridge Academy now be heard!

Voices of the youth: CedarBridge Academy's Student Government Association induction ceremony

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published December 10, 2015 at 8:00 am (Updated December 09, 2015 at 10:33 pm)

Student Government Association inducted

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon