Log In

Reset Password

Wells takes first series title

First Prev 1 2 Next Last

Louise Wells has been crowned the inaugural winner of the Novice Women's Series after winning her division in the Bermuda Cycling Academy Criterium.

Wells, representing Misfits, crossed the finish line in yesterday's criterium in a time of 19min 46.401sec in the fifth and final race of the series. Sarah Haycock came second in 19:47.048 with Deanna Didyk placing third in 20:03.092.

All three podium finishers, plus Sharon Craig, who came fourth in 20:04.876, stayed together at the front until the final lap when Wells and Haycock pulled ahead.

The series was organised by April Galda Joyce and Wenda Roberts, along with the Bermuda Bicycle Association, in an effort to attract more women to the sport.

Galda Joyce said there had been 39 women riders take part in the maiden series.

“We've seen lots of women riding bikes on the island, on the roads and the trials,” Galda Joyce said.

“We really have a great racing scene [in Bermuda] but there's a lot more men competing than women and we're trying to change that.

“We came up with a few things and the big one was this Novice series, a mix of road races and criterium.

“It's a beginner-friendly environment and a little shorter than other races. There's been a great reception to the series and hopefully next year's will be bigger and better.”

In the adult A race Anthony Bartlett claimed victory in 42:44.169 ahead of second-place Matthew Oliviera in 42:44.855 and Dave McComas who finished third in 42:45.039.

Rayul Matthie-Shakir, celebrating his eighteenth birthday, won the adult B race, while Paulo Madeiros took the honours in the adult C category.

In the women's race Sarah Bonnett, who claimed glory in this month's Sinclair Packwood Memorial Race, was victorious in a time of 25:57.816, with Wenda Roberts second in 25:58.230 and Erica Hawley third in 25:59.010.

On the final lap, Hawley attacked just before the last corner but Bonnett was able to step it up a gear to protect her lead.

Caleb Ingham won the junior A race, while Tommy Marshall claimed victory in the junior B contest.

No loner a novice: Wells, centre, with Galda Joyce, left, and Roberts
Race organisers Galda Joyce, left, and Roberts

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published June 06, 2016 at 9:00 am (Updated June 06, 2016 at 8:17 am)

Wells takes first series title

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon