Minister presents 2017 scholarships – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Minister presents 2017 scholarships

First Prev 1 2 Next Last

A total of 14 students have won scholarships from the Department of Workforce Development.

Diallo Rabain, the Minister of Education and Workforce Development, presented the awards at a recent ceremony.

Mr Rabain told the winners: “Our ministry understands how important it is for students to secure funding to complete their education.

“We are committed to making resources available for students and will continue to provide the financial support to pursue higher levels of education.

“We all look forward to seeing you accomplish your educational goals and return to Bermuda to begin your careers.”

The awards are available to students at overseas universities or technical colleges and for four students in the associates degree of Science — Nursing at Bermuda College.

The annual awards are valued up to $10,000 each and can only be used for tuition costs for a maximum of four years of study.

Students must also achieve a minimum semester GPA of 2.7 (B- equivalent) to remain eligible for the award.

Courses taken overseas by scholarship winners include business accounting, administration and management, healthcare, information technology and engineering,

The scholarship recipients and their courses of study are:

Chaetae Hollis, Caribbean Medical University, international doctor of medicine programme.

Copy-Lynne Simmons, Nottingham Trent University, bachelor of business administration.

Jameko Gomes, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, bachelor of science (information technology).

Janario Bean, New England Institute of Technology, bachelor of science (business administration).

Jonique Crockwell, Liverpool John Morore's University, bachelor in science (health).

Joshua Reid, Borough of Manhattan Community College, associate in science (accounting).

Marcus Pimental, Sheridan College Institute of Advanced Technology, advanced diploma (engineering).

Mason Cartwright, Imperial College, London, bachelor of medicine and surgery (medicine).

Nia Dailey, Spelman College, bachelor of science (health).

Niyokiei Hassell, Middlesex University, London, bachelor of science (health).

Quinae Santucci, Mount Saint Vincent University, bachelor of arts (business administration)

Rosemary Swain, Keele University, bachelor of science (nursing).

Sharmila Harris, Mount Saint Vincent University, bachelor of science (business administration).

Simeon Edwards, University of West England, bachelor of science (medicine).

Bermuda College Associate of Science — Nursing: Corynne Edwards, Najah Garcia, Terri Tear and Angela Sweeting

The recipients of the Department of Workforce Development 2017 scholarship.
Minister of Education and Worforce Development presented awards to the recipients of the Department of Workforce Development 2017 scholarship.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published August 23, 2017 at 2:13 pm (Updated August 26, 2017 at 1:35 am)

Minister presents 2017 scholarships

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon