Ravens crowned ‘A’ Division champs – The Royal Gazette | Bermuda News, Business, Sports, Events, & Community

Log In

Reset Password

Ravens crowned ‘A’ Division champs

Women's ‘A' Division

Ravens 2

Canaries 1

Goals from Megan Leitch and Megan Troake ensured Raven won the ‘A' Division title, beating Canaries.

A poor touch by the Ravens' defence saw the ball pop up to Canaries' Kirsty Jones who placed her shot in the netting past the Ravens' Jen Adderley to take the lead.

With 14 minutes to play, Canaries were awarded a penalty stroke but thanks to a fine save by keeper Adderley the score remained 1-0 to Canaries.

With a player down, Ravens continued to attack and were awarded a penalty corner in the 61st minute which saw Troake slip the ball to Ana Abend, who passed it to the far post to find an awaiting Leitch who slipped it into the corner to level matters.

The winning goal came in the 64th minute when the ball was crossed into the ‘D' from the right to find Ravens' Troake who sealed the win and the title.

Budgies 0

Ravens 1

Ravens exacted revenge for an early season loss as they beat Budgies.

Ravens were prepared for a fight in this game and came out with a full squad, applying early pressure in the first 15 minutes but were unable to convert.

Unfortunately for Budgies, they were down to 10 players within the first 20 minutes due to a player coming off with an ankle injury, but despite this, they continued to fight hard against the dominant Raven's squad.

The action heated up in the 45th minute when both teams had players sent off due to bad stick tackling.

Ravens' Megan Troake converted a penalty corner in the 54th minute when she placed the ball into the right corner away from the Budgies keeper Candace DeSilva to put her side up.

Canaries 1

Wildcats 2

Zuri Phillip grabbed the game winner as Wildcats beat Canaries

Canaries' Lisa Marshall opened the scoring in the 12th minute from a penalty corner shot.

Wildcats responded 19 minutes later when Susanna Almeida dribbled the ball towards Canaries' circle and slipped the ball to Brittani DeSilva who then shot at goal.

The initial shot deflected off keeper Tami Ray's pads to find Ryce Trott who had the simple task of scoring.

Phillip secured the winner in the 70th minute from a penalty corner.

Women's ‘B' Division

Swallows 3

Cardinals 2

Jennifer Chisnall scored twice as Swallows beat Cardinals.

An unmarked Chisnall scored the first field goal in the second minute of the game.

Cardinals' Helen Marshall executed a stroke in the 14th minute that was scooped high up into the top left corner to level matters.

But the side paid the price with their relaxed marking and lack of communication to leave Swallows' Chisnall to shoot at goal in the 35th minute to regain the lead.

Cardinals held Swallows at bay until the 40th minute when Mallory Towlson converted a goal from their second of four penalty corners to double the lead.

Cardinals were awarded another penalty corner in the 68th minute which found Katie Flath who slipped it into the goal.

You must be Registered or to post comment or to vote.

Published March 30, 2011 at 9:41 am (Updated March 30, 2011 at 9:40 am)

Ravens crowned ‘A’ Division champs

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon