Log In

Reset Password

National Trust appoints new president

Alana Anderson and Mark Orchard have been elected as the Bermuda National Trust's new president and vice president respectively

An associate underwriter with a passion for the island’s environment and heritage has been elected as the new president of the Bermuda National Trust.

Alana Anderson, who has been a member of the Council of the National Trust since 2008 and vice-president since 2015, was elected at the Trust’s AGM on June 22.

“The Bermuda National Trust has always held a special place in my heart,” she said. “It is a great honour to be elected as its president. I am both excited and eager to continue on the legacy of ‘for everyone for ever’.”

Mrs Anderson works at Sompo International as an assistant vice-president and associate underwriter,

She succeeds Lieutenant-Colonel William White as president, who served in the position from 2010 to 2015.

Mr White, who stepped back into the role in March 2015 until June 2017, was honoured with the Trust’s top award — the Palmetto Award — at the annual awards ceremony that preceded the AGM.

Chartered surveyor Mark Orchard, who has served on the council since 2013, was elected as the Trust’s new vice-president.

Mr Orchard said: “Since joining the Trust in 2013 I have been astounded by the breadth of responsibilities that this organisation conducts throughout the island; overseeing many of our country’s most important cultural assets including historic homes, museums and open spaces, as well as irreplaceable icons, including a vast collection of artwork, archival books, ancient silverware and priceless cedar furniture.

“Ensuring that our island’s unique legacy of traditions and treasured assets is maintained and made more accessible to the public will be key to ensuring the financial wellbeing of this important charity.

I look forward to playing an active role in enhancing this legacy.”

Mr White congratulated Mrs Anderson and Mr Orchard on their new appointments saying the Trust was in “good hands”. He added: “I am also deeply appreciative for being selected as recipient of the Palmetto Award.”

Robert Masters will take on the role of chairman of the Preservation Committee from Paul Leseur, while Robin Mayor will continue as the chairperson of the Development Committee and Stephen Kuzyk will remain as the Trust treasurer.

The other members of the National Trust Council are: Karen Border, Hugh Davidson, Kevin Gunther, Jan Macdonald, Tim Rogers and Mariette Savoie.